Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 54 Pa.B. 2336 (April 27, 2024).

28 Pa. Code § 1023.51. Certified EMS instructors.

§ 1023.51. Certified EMS instructors.

 (a)  Certification. The Department will certify as an EMS instructor an individual who meets the following qualifications:

   (1)  Has completed an application for EMS instructor certification on a form or through an electronic process, as prescribed by the Department.

   (2)  Is 18 years of age or older.

   (3)  Has successfully completed an EMS instructor’s course approved by the Department or possesses a bachelor’s degree in education, a teacher’s certification in education, a doctorate or master’s degree.

   (4)  Has provided at least 20 hours of instruction time in an EMS provider educational course monitored by a certified EMS instructor designated by the EMS educational institute’s administrative director.

   (5)  Possesses current certification as an EMT or higher level EMS provider.

   (6)  Possesses current certification in CPR or current certification as a CPR instructor.

   (7)  Possesses at least 1 year of experience in providing EMS as an EMT or higher level EMS provider.

 (b)  Triennial registration. An EMS instructor certification is deemed registered for 3 years. Thereafter, an EMS instructor shall triennially register the certification by completing a form or through an electronic process, as prescribed by the Department. An EMS instructor shall submit the form or complete the electronic process at least 30 days prior to the expiration of a current registration. Failure to do so in a timely manner may result in the EMS instructor certification not being registered again before the prior registration expires. The Department will issue a new registration within 30 days after the EMS instructor completes the form or the electronic process if the information provided establishes that the EMS instructor has met the following requirements:

   (1)  Has provided documentation to the Department to establish that the individual conducted at least 60 hours of teaching EMS provider or rescue courses during the previous 3 years.

   (2)  Possesses current registration of a certification as an EMT or higher level EMS provider.

   (3)  Possesses current certification in CPR or a current certification as a CPR instructor.

 (c)  Standards for providing instruction. An EMS instructor shall satisfy the following in providing instruction in an EMS educational institute:

   (1)  Present EMS educational program course materials as required under §  1025.1(h)(6) (relating to accreditation and operational requirements of EMS educational institutes).

   (2)  Utilize a variety of instructional strategies, adapting to students with diverse backgrounds and different learning styles.

   (3)  Establish and clearly communicate to students the goals and objectives for the certification class being taught and administer periodic evaluations to assess whether those goals and objectives are being met.

   (4)  Maintain class order and discipline, manage the classroom learning environment and monitor the effectiveness of instruction.

   (5)  Ensure proper class time management with particular attention to completion of required class hours.

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.