Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin
COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 51 Pa.B. 6892 (October 30, 2021).

28 Pa. Code § 27.8. Criminal penalties for violating the act or this chapter.

§ 27.8. Criminal penalties for violating the act or this chapter.

 (a)  A person who violates any provision of the act or this chapter shall, for each offense, upon conviction thereof in a summary proceeding before a district justice in the county wherein the offense was committed, be sentenced to pay a fine of not less than $25 and not more than $300, together with costs, and in default of payment of the fine and costs, shall be imprisoned in the county jail for a period not to exceed 30 days.

 (b)  A person afflicted with communicable tuberculosis, ordered to be quarantined or isolated in an institution, who leaves without consent of the medical director of the institution, is guilty of a misdemeanor, and upon conviction thereof, shall be sentenced to pay a fine of not less than $100 nor more than $500, or undergo imprisonment for not less than 30 days nor more than 6 months, or both.

 (c)  Prosecutions may be instituted by the Department, by a local health authority, or by any person having knowledge of a violation of the act or this chapter.

Source

   The provisions of this §  27.8 adopted January 25, 2002, effective January 26, 2002, 32 Pa.B. 491.



No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.


This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.