Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin
COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 54 Pa.B. 1806 (March 30, 2024).

31 Pa. Code § 73.105. Life insurance and life insurance with TPD benefitrequirements.

§ 73.105. Life insurance and life insurance with TPD benefitrequirements.

 A plan of credit life insurance or credit life insurance with TPD benefit and a group policy and group certificate or an individual policy describing the plan, shall comply with the following:

   (1)  Joint coverage.

     (i)   If joint life coverage with or without TPD benefit is provided, a group certificate or individual policy providing joint life coverage with or without TPD coverage shall be issued. Insurers shall not issue two single life coverage group certificates or two single life individual policies.

     (ii)   The benefit payable in the case of simultaneous death or TPD of both insureds shall not exceed the benefit that would be payable if coverage were provided on only one debtor.

     (iii)   The group policy and group certificate or individual policy shall make provision for whom any excess benefit will be paid in the event of the simultaneous death of the joint insureds.

   (2)  Continuation of coverage. If joint life coverage with or without TPD benefit is provided, and coverage on one of the insured debtors is terminated or voided, or a death claim is denied, for any reason other than for the termination of the indebtedness, any remaining eligible debtor’s coverage shall continue and an equitable adjustment of premium shall be made. The remaining eligible debtor’s coverage shall continue under a single life coverage group certificate or individual policy.

   (3)  Voiding coverage for ineligible age. If a debtor exceeds the eligibility age for coverage and has correctly stated age information in an application signed by the debtor, and if a group certificate or individual policy is issued, the insurer has the right during the debtor’s lifetime to void coverage on the debtor, but only within 60 days from the date of issue of the group certificate or individual policy.

   (4)  Terminating coverage for ineligible age. When premiums are payable monthly based on the actual monthly outstanding balance, if a debtor who exceeds the age at which coverage is to terminate under a group certificate or individual policy has correctly stated age information in an application signed by the debtor, and premiums continue to be erroneously charged to the debtor, the insurer has the right to terminate coverage as of the next billing date.

   (5)  Reducing excess coverage. If an identifiable charge is erroneously made to a debtor for an amount of coverage that exceeds the maximum dollar amount of coverage specified in the group policy and group certificate or individual policy, the insurer has the right to reduce the amount of coverage to the appropriate amount specified in the group policy and group certificate or individual policy during the debtor’s lifetime but only within 60 days from the date the identifiable charge is made to the debtor. If coverage is reduced, a refund shall be made of the difference between the actual amount charged and the appropriate amount that should have been charged.

   (6)  Contestability. A contestability provision may not be more restrictive than to provide that coverage on a debtor shall be incontestable after the group certificate or individual policy has been in force during the lifetime of the debtor for 2 years from the date of issue. Coverage shall be contested based only upon information contained in an insurance application signed by the debtor, a copy of which is furnished, not later than when coverage is contested, to the debtor, a secondary beneficiary or other claimant.

   (7)  Equitable premium or benefit adjustment. A provision specifying an adjustment of premiums or of benefits, or both, to be made if information relating to the age of a debtor has been fraudulently misstated shall be considered to be equitable if it places the debtor and the insurer in the position they would have been in had the age information been correctly stated. Adjustment may not be made unless the age information is contained in an application signed by the debtor, a copy of which is furnished, not later than the time the adjustment is made, to the debtor, a secondary beneficiary or other claimant.

   (8)  Premium payment basis.

     (i)   Premiums shall be payable by the debtor either on a monthly outstanding balance basis or on a single premium basis at issue. Single premium coverage may be written on closed end loans only if at least one of the following conditions applies:

       (A)   The term of the coverage is 75 months or less. However coverage written on lease transactions may exceed 75 months.

       (B)   The coverage is provided on a net unpaid indebtedness basis.

     (ii)   A group certificate or individual policy providing credit life insurance or credit life insurance with TPD benefit on a single premium net unpaid indebtedness basis shall contain a disclosure of the annual percentage rate used in the calculation of the insured indebtedness.

   (9)  Renewal or refinancing. With respect to the renewal or refinancing of an existing insured indebtedness, the effective date of coverage on the renewed or refinanced indebtedness shall be the date on which the insurer originally insured the debtor with respect to the indebtedness that is renewed or refinanced, to the extent of the amount and term of the indebtedness outstanding at the time of renewal or refinancing.

   (10)  Truncated life coverage.

     (i)   Truncated credit life insurance and truncated credit life insurance with TPD benefit may be provided only in connection with loans or credit transactions that are for a term greater than 60 months.

     (ii)   The truncated coverage period shall be at least 60 months.

     (iii)   If truncated coverage is elected by a debtor, at the time of election of the insurance coverage, the debtor shall be informed in writing of the term of the insurance coverage and that the coverage will terminate prior to the scheduled maturity date of the indebtedness.

     (iv)   A group certificate or individual policy providing truncated credit insurance coverage shall disclose both the term of the truncated insurance coverage and that the term of insurance coverage will terminate prior to the scheduled maturity date of the indebtedness. The termination disclosure shall appear in prominent print on the first page of the group certificate or individual policy.

   (11)  Preexisting exclusion disclosure. A group certificate or individual policy providing for a preexisting condition exclusion shall disclose the exclusion and its effects upon benefit payments. The preexisting condition exclusion disclosure shall appear in prominent type on the first page of the group certificate or individual policy.

Cross References

   This section cited in 31 Pa. Code §  73.116 (relating to age requirements).



No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.


This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.