Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 54 Pa.B. 1806 (March 30, 2024).

49 Pa. Code § 13.212. Cremation.

§ 13.212. Cremation.

 A dead human body may be cremated at any time after 24 hours beyond the time of death. This does not prevent taking the remains to the crematory prior to 24 hours as long as written explicit instructions are given to the crematory that cremation absolutely cannot be done before 24 hours. A signed receipt shall be the possession of the funeral director to that effect.


   The provisions of this §  13.212 adopted November 11, 1977, effective November 12, 1977, 7 Pa.B. 3306; amended December 6, 1991, effective December 7, 1991, 21 Pa.B. 5645. Immediately preceding text apears at serial page (151830).

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.