Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 52 Pa.B. 6342 (October 1, 2022).

49 Pa. Code § 13.23. College requirements.

§ 13.23. College requirements.

 To qualify as a student trainee, an applicant shall have completed at least 2 full years of college level credit in an institution of higher education which has the legally authorized approval of its own state department of education. For purposes of this section, a minimum of 60 semester hours will constitute the equivalent of 2 years of college credit. The earned credits shall be in areas of general education which are applicable to a liberal arts program. The applicant shall submit a transcript for evaluation by the Director of Credentials Evaluation of the Department of Education prior to being registered as a student trainee at an approved mortuary school with a 1-year course in mortuary science approved by the American Board of Funeral Service Education.


   The provisions of this §  13.23 adopted September 12, 1966; amended October 19, 1973, effective October 20, 1973, 3 Pa.B. 2392; amended November 11, 1977, effective November 12, 1977, 7 Pa.B. 3306; amended December 6, 1991, effective December 7, 1991, 21 Pa.B. 5645. Immediately preceding text appears at serial page (154102).

Cross References

   This section cited in 49 Pa. Code §  13.22 (relating to matriculation at approved school); 49 Pa. Code §  13.24 (relating to coordinated course of study); and 49 Pa. Code §  13.31 (relating to qualifications).

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.