Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 52 Pa.B. 3204 (May 28, 2022).

49 Pa. Code § 13.231. Biennial registration; unregistered status and inactive status; failure to renew.


§ 13.231. Biennial registration; unregistered status and inactive status; failure to renew.

 (a)  A licensee shall register each biennial period to retain the right to practice. Initial registration shall automatically occur when a license is issued. Registration for a biennial period expires on the first day of February of every even numbered year. Unless excused by the Board for good cause under section 10(b)(4) of the act (63 P.S. §  479.10(b)(4)), the Board will not grant an application for renewal of a funeral director license unless the licensee has certified that the licensee has completed the amount of continuing education required by §  13.401 (relating to credit hour requirements), including at least 2 hours of approved courses in child abuse recognition and reporting in accordance with §  13.308(b) (relating to child abuse recognition and reporting—mandatory training requirement).

 (b)  Applications for biennial registration shall be made on forms provided by the Board. The form shall be received by the Board with the required registration fee by the expiration of the previous biennial registration period.

 (c)  Biennial registration forms and other forms and literature distributed by the Board will be mailed to the licensee at the last mailing address on file with the Board. If a licensee changes the mailing address, the licensee shall notify the Board within 15 days thereafter. Failure of the Board to send or of the licensee to receive a biennial registration application does not relieve the licensee of the biennial registration responsibility.

 (d)  A licensee whose licensure status has lapsed by failing to register biennially with the Board may apply to the Board for reactivation of licensure status by satisfying the requirements of paragraph (1) on forms prescribed by the Board. An application for reactivation of an inactive or lapsed funeral director license must also include the documentation required by §  13.402 (relating to reporting completion of continuing education) for the immediately preceding biennium, which may be completed during the current biennium. Unless excused by the Board for good cause under section 10(b)(4) of the act, the Board will not reactivate any funeral director license until the required continuing education for the preceding biennium has been successfully completed.

   (1)  A licensee applying for reactivation of licensure status is required to pay the current registration fee and submit a notarized affidavit setting forth the period of time in which the licensee did not practice in this Commonwealth.

   (2)  A licensee who seeks to reactivate his licensure status will not be assessed a late renewal fee for the preceding biennial registration periods in which the licensee did not engage in practice in this Commonwealth. A licensee whose licensure status has lapsed due to the failure to register biennially with the Board, is prohibited from practicing as a funeral director in this Commonwealth unless the licensure status is reactivated. If a licensee engages in practice in this Commonwealth during a period in which the licensees’ registration is not renewed, the licensee is required to pay a late fee of $5 for each month or part of a month beyond the date specified for renewal as provided in section 225 of the Bureau of Professional and Occupational Affairs Fee Act (63 P. S. §  1401-225), in addition to the prescribed biennial renewal fee. The payment of a late fee does not preclude the Board from taking disciplinary action against a licensee for practicing as a funeral director in this Commonwealth without a current license.


   The provisions of this §  13.231 amended under sections 10(b) and 16(a) of the Funeral Director Law (63 P.S. § §  479.10(b) and 479.16(a)); and 23 Pa.C.S. § §  6301—6388.


   The provisions of this §  13.231 adopted November 11, 1977, effective November 12, 1977, 7 Pa.B. 3306; amended December 28, 1979, effective December 29, 1979, 9 Pa.B. 4254; amended December 6, 1991, effective December 7, 1991, 21 Pa.B. 5645; amended December 2, 2005, effective December 3, 2005, 35 Pa.B. 6523; amended March 18, 2022, effective March 19, 2022, 52 Pa.B. 1600. Immediately preceding text appears at serial pages (366113) to (366114).

Cross References

   This section cited in 49 Pa. Code §  13.401 (relating to credit hour requirements); and 49 Pa. Code §  43b.6 (relating to schedule of civil penalties—funeral directors and funeral establishments).

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.