Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 53 Pa.B. 696 (January 28, 2023).

49 Pa. Code § 18.3. Biennial registration requirements.

§ 18.3. Biennial registration requirements.

 (a)  A nurse-midwife license shall be registered biennially. The procedure for the biennial registration of a nurse-midwife license is in §  16.15 (relating to biennial registration; inactive status and unregistered status).

 (b)  As a condition of biennial license renewal, a nurse-midwife shall complete the continuing education requirement in section 12.1 of the Professional Nursing Law (63 P.S. §  222), including at least 2 hours of approved continuing education in child abuse recognition and reporting in accordance with §  16.108(b) (relating to child abuse recognition and reporting—mandatory training requirement). In the case of a nurse-midwife who has prescriptive authority under the act, the continuing education required by the Professional Nursing Law (63 P.S. § §  211—225.5) must include at least 16 hours in pharmacology completed each biennium.

 (c)  The fees for the biennial renewal of a nurse-midwife license and prescriptive authority are set forth in §  16.13 (relating to licensure, certification, examination and registration fees).


   The provisions of this §  18.3 amended under section 2 of the act of April 4, 1929 (P. L. 160, No. 155) (63 P.S. §  172); sections 8, 12 and 35(a) of the Medical Practice Act of 1985 (63 P.S. § §  422.8, 422.12 and 422.35(a)); and 23 Pa.C.S. §  6383(b)(2).


   The provisions of this §  18.3 adopted January 2, 1987, effective immediately and applies retroactively to December 31, 1986, 17 Pa.B. 24; amended May 19, 1989, effective May 20, 1989, 19 Pa.B. 2161; amended April 3, 2009, effective April 4, 2009, 39 Pa.B. 1625; amended March 25, 2022, effective March 26, 2022, 52 Pa.B. 1899. Immediately preceding text appears at serial pages (342659) to (342660).

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.