Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 54 Pa.B. 1032 (February 24, 2024).

49 Pa. Code § 21.21. Application for examination.

§ 21.21. Application for examination.

 (a)  A candidate for the licensing examination may submit an application together with the required fee no sooner than 90 days prior to completing a professional nursing education program.

 (b)  A candidate will not be authorized to take the examination unless the candidate has satisfied the requirements of the act necessary for eligibility, including confirmation of completion of an approved professional nursing educational program.

 (c)  Graduates of professional nursing education programs outside of this Commonwealth shall file an official transcript validating program completion with the application.

 (d)  An applicant seeking a waiver of the 1-year requirement in §  21.23(c) (relating to qualifications of applicant for examination) shall submit documentation to demonstrate that an emergency, illness, military service or other good cause prevented compliance, or that the candidate holds a license to practice nursing in another state or country.


   The provisions of this §  21.21 issued under section 506 of The Administrative Code of 1929 (71 P.S. §  186); and section 1 of The Professional Nursing Law (63 P.S. §  212.1); amended under section 812.1 of The Administrative Code of 1929 (71 P.S. §  279.3a); and section 2.1(k) of The Professional Nursing Law (63 P.S. §  212.1(k)).


   The provisions of this §  21.21 amended October 22, 1976, effective October 23, 1976, 6 Pa.B. 2677; amended March 20, 1981, effective March 21, 1981, 11 Pa.B. 1027; amended April 29, 1983, effective April 30, 1983, 13 Pa.B. 1439; amended June 8, 1990, effective June 9, 1990, 20 Pa.B. 3078; amended December 16, 2016, effective December 17, 2016, 46 Pa.B. 7822. Immediately preceding text appears at serial page (351271).

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.