Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin
COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 54 Pa.B. 1806 (March 30, 2024).

49 Pa. Code § 21.508. Child abuse recognition and reporting—mandatory training requirement.

§ 21.508. Child abuse recognition and reporting—mandatory training requirement.

 (a)  Except as provided in subsection (c), individuals applying to the Board for an initial license or certificate shall have completed at least 3 hours of training in child abuse recognition and reporting requirements which has been approved by the Department of Human Services and the Bureau, as set forth in §  21.509 (relating to child abuse recognition and reporting course approval process). The applicant shall certify on the application that the applicant has either completed the required training or has been granted an exemption under subsection (c). The Board will not issue a license or certificate unless the Bureau has received an electronic report from an approved course provider documenting the attendance/participation by the applicant or the applicant has obtained an exemption under subsection (c).

 (b)  Except as provided in subsection (c), licensees seeking renewal of a license or certificate issued by the Board shall complete, as a condition of biennial renewal, at least 2 hours of approved continuing education in child abuse recognition and reporting requirements, as a portion of the total continuing education required for biennial renewal. For credit to be granted, the continuing education course or program must be approved by the Bureau, in consultation with the Department of Human Services, as set forth in §  21.509. The Board will not renew a license or certificate unless the Bureau has received an electronic report from an approved course provider documenting the attendance/participation by the licensee in an approved course within the applicable 2-year biennial licensure cycle or the licensee has obtained an exemption under subsection (c). If a licensee holds more than one license or certificate issued by the Board, or holds a license issued by another licensing board within the Bureau that requires mandatory training in child abuse recognition and reporting, credit for completion of an approved course will be applied to both credentials.

 (c)  An applicant or licensee may apply in writing for an exemption from the training/continuing education requirements set forth in subsections (a) and (b) provided the applicant or licensee meets one of the following:

   (1)  The applicant or licensee submits documentation demonstrating all of the following:

     (i)   The applicant or licensee has already completed child abuse recognition training as required by section 1205.6 of the Public School Code of 1949 (24 P.S. §  12-1205.6).

     (ii)   The training was approved by the Department of Education in consultation with the Department of Human Services.

     (iii)   The amount of training received equals or exceeds the amount of training or continuing education required under subsection (a) or (b), as applicable.

     (iv)   For purposes of licensure renewal, the training must have been completed during the relevant biennial renewal period.

   (2)  The applicant or licensee submits documentation demonstrating all of the following:

     (i)   The applicant or licensee has already completed child abuse recognition training required under 23 Pa.C.S. §  6383(c) (relating to education and training).

     (ii)   The training was approved by the Department of Human Services.

     (iii)   The amount of training received equals or exceeds the amount of training or continuing education required under subsection (a) or (b), as applicable.

     (iv)   For purposes of licensure renewal, the training must have been completed during the relevant biennial renewal period.

   (3)  The applicant or licensee submits documentation acceptable to the Board demonstrating why the applicant or licensee should not be subject to the training or continuing education requirement. The Board will not grant an exemption based solely upon proof that children are not part of the applicant’s or licensee’s practice. Each request for an exemption under this paragraph will be considered on a case-by-case basis. The Board may grant the exemption if it finds that completion of the training or continuing education requirement is duplicative or unnecessary under the circumstances.

 (d)  Exemptions granted under subsection (c) are applicable only for the biennial renewal period for which the exemption is requested. If an exemption is granted, the Board will issue or renew the license/certificate, as applicable. If an exemption is denied, the Board will e-mail the applicant or licensee a discrepancy notice notifying them of the need to either complete an approved course or, if warranted, to submit additional documentation in support of their request for an exemption.

Authority

   The provisions of this §  21.508 added under section 2.1(k) of The Professional Nursing Law (63 P.S. §  222.1(k)); section 17.6 of the Practical Nurse Law (63 P.S. §  667.6); and 23 Pa.C.S. §  6383(b)(2).

Source

   The provisions of this §  21.508 added March 25, 2022, effective March 26, 2022, 52 Pa.B. 1916.

Cross References

   This section cited in 49 Pa. Code §  21.20 (relating to licensure by examination); 49 Pa. Code §  21.28 (relating to licensure by endorsement); 49 Pa. Code §  21.29 (relating to expiration and renewal of license); 49 Pa. Code §  21.131 (relating to continuing education); 49 Pa. Code §  21.150 (relating to licensure by examination); 49 Pa. Code §  21.155 (relating to licensure by endorsement); 49 Pa. Code §  21.156 (relating to renewal of license); 49 Pa. Code §  21.271 (relating to certification requirements); 49 Pa. Code §  21.331 (relating to biennial renewal of certification); 49 Pa. Code §  21.603 (relating to applications); 49 Pa. Code §  21.605 (relating to biennial renewal); 49 Pa. Code §  21.721 (relating to qualifications for licensure); 49 Pa. Code §  21.723 (relating to license renewal); 49 Pa. Code §  21.724 (relating to continuing education); 49 Pa. Code §  21.811 (relating to qualifications for initial certification); 49 Pa. Code §  21.812 (relating to qualifications for certification by endorsement; additional certification); and 49 Pa. Code §  21.822 (relating to biennial renewal of certification).



No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.


This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.