Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin
COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 53 Pa.B. 7346 (November 25, 2023).

49 Pa. Code § 23.27a. License by endorsement under 63 Pa.C.S. §  3111.

§ 23.27a. License by endorsement under 63 Pa.C.S. §  3111.

 (a)  Requirements for issuance. To be issued a license by endorsement under 63 Pa.C.S. §  3111 (relating to licensure by endorsement), an applicant shall satisfy all of the following conditions:

   (1)  Have a current license, certification, registration or permit in good standing to practice optometry in another jurisdiction whose standards are substantially equivalent to or exceed those established under section 4 of the act (63 P.S. §  244.4) and § §  23.11—23.15, 23.202 and 23.205. The following apply:

     (i)   An applicant must submit a copy of the current applicable law, regulation or other rule governing licensure, certification, registration or permit requirements and scope of practice in the jurisdiction that issued the license, certificate, registration or permit.

     (ii)   If the applicable law, regulation or other rule is in a language other than English, at the applicant’s expense, the applicable law, regulation or other rule shall be translated by a professional translation service and verified to be complete and accurate.

     (iii)   The copy of the applicable law, regulation or other rule must include the enactment date.

   (2)  Demonstrate competency by one of the following:

     (i)   Experience in the practice of optometry by demonstrating, at a minimum, that the applicant has actively engaged in the practice of optometry under a license, certificate, registration or permit in a jurisdiction or jurisdictions that have substantially equivalent licensure standards for at least 2 of the 5 years immediately preceding the filing of the application with the Board.

     (ii)   Completion of 30 hours of continuing education that meets the requirements of § §  23.82 and 23.83 (relating to continuing education hour requirements; continuing education reporting; audit and enforcement; and continuing education subject matter) during the 24 months immediately preceding the date of the application. Completion of child abuse recognition and reporting training under paragraph (7) may be attributed to the 30 hours of continuing education.

     (iii)   Achieve a passing score on the NBEO Clinical Skills Assessment Examination or its equivalent, as determined by the Board, within 2 years immediately preceding the date of the application.

   (3)  Have not committed any act prohibited by section 7 of the act (63 P.S. §  244.7) or § §  23.61—23.65 (relating to unlawful practices).

   (4)  Have not been disciplined by the jurisdiction that issued the license, certificate, registration or permit.

   (5)  Have paid the license application fee as required by §  23.91 (relating to fees).

   (6)  Have applied for licensure in accordance with this chapter in the manner and format prescribed by the Board.

   (7)  Have completed 3 hours of training in child abuse recognition and reporting from a provider approved by the Department of Human Services as required under 23 Pa.C.S. §  6383(b)(3)(i) (relating to education and training).

 (b)  Interview and additional information. An applicant may be required to appear before the Board for a personal interview and may be required to submit additional information, including supporting documentation relating to competency and experience. The applicant may request the interview to be conducted by video teleconference for good cause shown.

 (c)  Prohibited acts and discipline. Notwithstanding subsection (a)(3) and (4), the Board may, in its discretion, determine that an act prohibited under section 7 of the act or § §  23.61—23.65, or disciplinary action by a jurisdiction is not an impediment to licensure under 63 Pa.C.S. §  3111.

Authority

   The provisions of this §  23.27a added under section 3111 of 63 Pa.C.S.; and section 3(b)(14) of the Optometric Practice and Licensure Act (63 P.S. §  244.3(b)(14)).

Source

   The provisions on this §  23.27a added September 15, 2023, effective September 16, 2023, 53 Pa.B. 5765.

Cross References

   This section cited in 49 Pa. Code §  23.27 (relating to definitions); and 49 Pa. Code §  23.27b (relating to provisional endorsement license).



No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.


This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.