Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin
COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 54 Pa.B. 1806 (March 30, 2024).

49 Pa. Code § 23.81. Coverage.

CONTINUING EDUCATION


§ 23.81. Coverage.

 (a)  This section and § §  23.82—23.89 apply to all optometrists who are required to be licensed under the act; however, an applicant, upon successful completion of the optometric examination for licensure, shall be exempt from the requirements of continuing education for only the biennial period during which the applicant successfully completed the examination if the applicant takes the examination within 2 years from the applicant’s graduation from an accredited college or school of optometry.

 (b)  An individual who is in an inactive status or is a retired practitioner is not required to meet the continuing education requirements as outlined in this section and § §  23.82—23.89 except to the extent that, upon application for reactivation, the individual shall be required to show proof of continuing education for the biennial period immediately preceding the request for reactivation, including at least 2 hours of approved courses in child abuse recognition and reporting as required under §  23.117(b) (relating to child abuse recognition and reporting—mandatory training requirement).

Authority

   The provisions of this §  23.81 amended under section 3(b)(14) of the Optometric Practice and Licensure Act (63 P.S. §  244.3(b)(14)); and 23 Pa.C.S. §  6383(b)(2).

Source

   The provisions of this §  23.81 adopted April 16, 1982, effective April 17, 1982, 12 Pa.B. 1231; amended January 26, 2024, effective January 27, 2024, 54 Pa.B. 368. Immediately preceding text appears at serial page (415613).

Cross References

   This section cited in 49 Pa. Code §  23.84 (relating to provider and program registration); and 49 Pa. Code §  23.89 (relating to falsification of information).



No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.


This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.