Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin
COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 53 Pa.B. 7346 (November 25, 2023).

49 Pa. Code § 23.84. Provider and program registration.

§ 23.84. Provider and program registration.

 (a)  An agency, organization, institution, association or center seeking to offer an organized program for continuing education may apply to the Board as a provider.

 (b)  Providers seeking Board approval of continuing education programs shall complete and submit an application as a provider of continuing education.

 (c)  An application for program approval shall include, but not be limited to, the following information:

   (1)  Full name and address of the eligible provider.

   (2)  Title of the program.

   (3)  Dates and location of the program.

   (4)  Faculty names, titles, affiliations, degrees.

   (5)  Schedule of program—title of subject, lecturer, time allocated and the like.

   (6)  Total number of credit hours requested.

   (7)  Method of certifying and assuring attendance.

   (8)  Provider number where applicable.

   (9)  Provider category.

   (10)  Objectives.

   (11)  Admission requirements.

   (12)  Core subjects.

   (13)  Program coordinator.

   (14)  Instruction and evaluation methods.

 (d)  Statements made in the application shall be sworn to be true and correct to the best of the provider’s information, knowledge and belief.

 (e)  Upon approval of a qualified provider, a provider number will be assigned; and upon approval of any program, a program number will be assigned except for those providers listed in §  23.81(a) (relating to coverage).

 (f)  Programs will be approved only in demonstrated areas of expertise. A change in the area of expertise shall be recorded and communicated to the Board within 60 days of that change. The Board will accept a designation that the particular provider is qualified to provide continuing education in all subject matter as set forth in §  23.83 (relating to continuing education subject matter) so long as expertise can be shown.

 (g)  Disapproval of program will include a statement setting forth reasons. Applicants may submit new applications within 10 days after receipt of disapproval. New applications shall document alterations in program to meet Board requirements. Notification will occur as soon as possible within the Board’s capability on action taken on new applications.

 (h)  Each approved provider shall request reregistration each biennium, and each application for reregistration shall be accompanied by a statement outlining any major changes in the information previously submitted.

 (i)  Programs approved to grant continuing education hours in therapeutics or glaucoma shall indicate the number of credits approved in each area on the certificate of attendance. Preapproved providers shall also indicate on the certificate of attendance how many credits will apply toward the requirement for renewal of therapeutic or glaucoma certification.

Authority

   The provisions of this §  23.84 amended under section 3(b)(12) of the Optometric Practice and Licensure Act (63 P.S. §  244.3(b)(12)).

Source

   The provisions of this §  23.84 adopted April 16, 1982, effective April 17, 1982, 12 Pa.B. 1231; amended March 12, 2004, effective March 13, 2004, 34 Pa.B. 1453. Immediately preceeding text appears at serial pages (288942) and (244909).

Cross References

   This section cited in 49 Pa. Code §  23.81 (relating to coverage); and 49 Pa. Code §  23.89 (relating to falsification of information).



No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.


This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.