Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 54 Pa.B. 1806 (March 30, 2024).

49 Pa. Code § 25.246. Short-term camp physician license.

§ 25.246. Short-term camp physician license.

 (a)  A short-term license valid for a period not exceeding 3 months may be granted by the Board to an osteopathic physician licensed in good standing in another state or Canada who intends to practice osteopathic medicine and surgery in camps in this Commonwealth.

 (b)  Specific requirements for short-term camp licensure are as follows. The applicant shall:

   (1)  Possess a valid, current and unrestricted license in another state or territory of the United States or Canada. The physician shall arrange for certification of licensure to be transmitted to the Board by the authorized licensing body of the other jurisdiction.

   (2)  Comply with the malpractice insurance requirements of the Medical Care Availability and Reduction of Error (MCARE) Act (40 P.S. § §  1303.101—1303.910) and regulations thereunder.

   (2.1)  Complete at least 3 hours of mandatory training in child abuse recognition and reporting in accordance with §  25.417(a) (relating to child abuse recognition and reporting—mandatory training requirement).

   (3)  Submit an application obtained from the Board, together with the required fee.


   The provisions of this §  25.246 issued under section 16 of the Osteopathic Medical Practice Act (63 P.S. §  271.16); and section 902(b) of the Health Care Services Malpractice Act (40 P.S. §  1301.902(b)); amended under section 16 of the Osteopathic Medical Practice Act (63 P.S. §  271.16); and 23 Pa.C.S. §  6383(b)(2).


   The provisions of this §  25.246 adopted January 10, 1992, effective January 11, 1992, 22 Pa.B. 209; amended December 29, 2023, effective December 30, 2023, 53 Pa.B. 8218. Immediately preceding text appears at serial pages (210062) to (210063).

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.