Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 54 Pa.B. 1806 (March 30, 2024).

49 Pa. Code § 27.11. Pharmacy permit and pharmacist manager.


§ 27.11. Pharmacy permit and pharmacist manager.

 (a)  A permit to conduct a pharmacy issued under section 4 of the act (63 P. S. §  390-4) shall show the name and address of the pharmacy, the name of the current owner and the name of the current pharmacist manager.

 (b)  A pharmacy may not display, advertise or use any name other than the name in which it is registered.

 (c)  The prescription area of a pharmacy may not be open without a licensed pharmacist on duty at all times. A sole pharmacist on duty may take up to a 30-minute break while the pharmacy remains open consistent with the following:

   (1)  The pharmacist shall remain in the pharmacy, or in the case of a pharmacy located within a retail establishment or institution, in the immediate building containing the pharmacy, and shall be accessible for emergencies or for counseling, if requested. For purposes of this paragraph, the term ‘‘immediate building’’ means the physical structure that contains the pharmacy. A pharmacy located at a complex consisting of multiple retail and other business establishments, such as a mall, is not considered to be ‘‘located within a retail establishment.’’ In that case, the entire store containing the pharmacy is licensed, and the pharmacist shall remain in the store during a break.

   (2)  The pharmacy may remain open during the pharmacist’s break for patient-related services, including:

     (i)   The receipt of new written prescriptions.

     (ii)   The preparation of prescriptions for final verification by the pharmacist.

     (iii)   The delivery of prescription medications that have been verified by the pharmacist.

 (d)  A change in name or ownership or controlling interest of the pharmacy shall require a new permit. Applications for new permits shall be filed within 30 days of the change in name, ownership or controlling interest.

 (e)  A person or entity holding a certificate, license, permit or registration as a licensed pharmacist or pharmacy may not post or display in public view a current certificate, license, permit, registration or renewal of a person not lawfully employed by the licensee.

 (f)  A pharmacy which closes or otherwise ceases operation shall immediately return to the Board its current permit and shall immediately inform the Board of the disposition of the prescription files and nonproprietary drugs. After 30 days, neither prescription files nor nonproprietary drugs may be sold, transferred or disposed of without prior permission from the Board. When a pharmacy closes or ceases operation, signs, symbols or other indications of a pharmacy shall immediately be removed from both the interior and exterior of the premises.

 (g)  If the pharmacist manager ceases to hold that position, the pharmacy permit holder shall inform the Board in writing of this fact and of the new pharmacist manager not more than 15 days later. If the Board does not object within 30 days of notification, the new pharmacist manager may be deemed approved. If the permit holder is unable to replace the pharmacist manager within those 15 days, the permit holder may request in writing an extension of up to 30 additional days to obtain a replacement. A pharmacy may not operate without a pharmacist manager for more than 15 days unless the pharmacy first obtains from the Board an extension of time for obtaining a replacement.

 (h)  A pharmacist may not serve as the pharmacist manager of more than one pharmacy at any given time. The holder of a permit to operate a pharmacy which has lost the services of a pharmacist manager and cannot obtain a suitable replacement may apply in writing to the Board for a temporary waiver of this subsection. The Board may grant a waiver which would authorize a pharmacist manager to serve as pharmacist manager of more than one pharmacy for up to 60 days after the initial 15 days permitted under subsection (g).

 (i)  Each pharmacy in this Commonwealth will require a separate permit regardless of ownership unless the pharmacy is a satellite pharmacy as defined in §  27.1 (relating to definitions).


   The provisions of this §  27.11 amended under sections 4(2) and 6(k)(1) and (9) of the Pharmacy Act (63 P. S. § §  390-4(j), 390-6(k)(1) and (9)).


   The provisions of this §  27.11 amended September 4, 1998, effective September 5, 1998, 28 Pa.B. 4532; amended December 11, 2009, effective December 12, 2009, 39 Pa.B. 7005. Immediately preceding text appears at serial pages (342123) to (342124).

Cross References

   This section cited in 6 Pa. Code §  22.62 (relating to conditions of provider participation); 49 Pa. Code §  27.16 (relating to construction and equipment requirements); and 49 Pa. Code §  43b.7 (relating to schedule of civil penalties—pharmacists and pharmacies).

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.