Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 54 Pa.B. 1032 (February 24, 2024).

49 Pa. Code § 27.31. Biennial renewal.


§ 27.31. Biennial renewal.

 (a)  A holder of a pharmacy permit shall renew the permit every 2 years, in odd-number years. Renewal requires completion of a form mailed to the holder by the Board in advance of the renewal period, and payment of the specified fee.

 (b)  A licensed pharmacist shall renew the license every 2 years, in even-numbered years. Renewal requires completion of a form mailed to the pharmacist by the Board in advance of the renewal period or completion of an online electronic form, and payment of the specified fee. A pharmacist shall also submit proof of compliance with the continuing education requirements of §  27.32 (relating to continuing education).

 (c)  A pharmacist or holder of a pharmacy permit who fails to timely renew shall cease practice or operation until the license or permit is renewed. The holder may be subject to disciplinary action, and will be assessed an additional fee of $5 for each month or part of month after which renewal occurs beyond the date specified by the Board. Notice of lapsed pharmacy permits shall be forwarded to other Commonwealth agencies, including the Department of Health, the Department of Public Welfare and the Department of Aging.

 (d)  A pharmacist allowing the license to lapse may so notify the Board on the renewal form. Reasons shall be briefly stated, and the pharmacist’s pocket license and display license shall be surrendered to the Board with the renewal form. A pharmacist who has had a lapsed license for 1 year or more, and who then seeks to reactivate the license, will be required to show current proficiency to practice pharmacy. The full-time practice of pharmacy in another state, during the period of lapsed licensure in this Commonwealth, will be evidence of current proficiency. A holder of a lapsed license who engaged in activities outside the profession of pharmacy during the lapsed period shall complete hours of continuing education equivalent to the hours which he would have been required to take had he held an active license.


   The provisions of this §  27.31 amended December 19, 1986, effective December 20, 1986, 16 Pa.B. 4883; amended December 24, 2009, effective December 26, 2009, 39 Pa.B. 7205. Immediately preceding text appears at serial pages (250225) and (342131).

Cross References

   This section cited in 49 Pa. Code §  43b.7 (relating to schedule of civil penalties—pharmacists and pharmacies); and 49 Pa. Code §  43b.7a (relating to schedule of civil penalties—pharmacists and pharmacies—statement of policy).

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.