Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 54 Pa.B. 1032 (February 24, 2024).

49 Pa. Code § 40.12. Application for licensure.

§ 40.12. Application for licensure.

 (a)  Evidence, satisfactory to the Board, shall be submitted indicating that the applicant:

   (1)  Is at least 20 years of age, unless otherwise waived upon application to and review by the Board.

   (2)  Is of good moral character.

   (3)  Is not addicted to the habitual use of alcohol, narcotics or other habit forming drugs.

   (4)  Has met the professional requirements in §  40.11 (relating to educational requirements for licensure by examination).

   (5)  Has completed at least 3 hours of approved training in child abuse recognition and reporting in accordance with §  40.208(a) (relating to child abuse recognition and reporting—mandatory training requirement).

 (b)  The applicant shall apply on forms supplied by the Board, answer all questions fully and provide all documentation required under subsection (a).

 (c)  The applicant shall pay the fee in §  40.5 (relating to fees) for application for physical therapist licensure by examination/endorsement.


   The provisions of this §  40.12 amended under section 3(a) of the Physical Therapy Practice Act (63 P.S. §  1303(a)); and section 16 of the act of July 4, 2008 (P.L. 293, No. 38); and 23 Pa.C.S. §  6383(b)(2).


   The provisions of this §  40.12 adopted July 29, 1977, effective July 30, 1977, 7 Pa.B. 2138; amended December 21, 2012, effective December 22, 2012, 42 Pa.B. 7652; amended August 6, 2021, effective August 7, 2021, 51 Pa.B. 4325. Immediately preceding text appears at serial pages (364959) to (364960).

Cross References

   This section cited in 49 Pa. Code §  40.17 (relating to foreign-educated physical therapists applying to take the licensure examination and pursue a clinical experience).

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.