Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 54 Pa.B. 1032 (February 24, 2024).

49 Pa. Code § 40.14. Examination; failure; reexamination.

§ 40.14. Examination; failure; reexamination.

 (a)  Applicants shall successfully pass, to the satisfaction of the Board, the examination approved by the Board. In cases of failure at the first examination, the applicant shall have, after the expiration of 60 days and within 1 year from the date of the first failure, the privilege of a second examination, with the payment of an additional examination fee charged by the vendor.

 (b)  After a second or successive failure to pass the examination, an applicant desiring to take a third or successive examination shall make a new application within the meaning of section 5 of the act (63 P. S. §  1305) within 6 months from the date of the last failure. However, prior to filing a new application for examination, the Board may require evidence of additional training. If the Board determines that the applicant will be permitted to take a third or successive examination, the Board may authorize in connection with a written examination an oral or practical examination, or both, to test the knowledge and competence of the applicant.

 (c)  The granting of permission by the Board to take a third or successive examination is at all times subject to the applicant otherwise qualifying under the requirements in force at the time permission to take the examination is sought.

 (d)  An applicant may not take the examination more than three times in a consecutive 12-month period.


   The provisions of this §  40.14 amended under section 812.1 of The Administrative Code of 1929 (71 P.S. §  279.3a); sections 3(a) and 8 of the Physical Therapy Practice Act (63 P.S. § §  1303(a) and 1308); and section 16 of the act of July 4, 2008 (P.L. 293, No. 38).


   The provisions of this §  40.14 adopted July 29, 1977, effective July 30, 1977, 7 Pa.B. 2138; amended March 29, 2002, effective March 30, 2002, 32 Pa.B. 1658; amended August 27, 2004, effective August 28, 2004, 34 Pa.B. 4697; amended December 21, 2012, effective December 22, 2012, 42 Pa.B. 7652. Immediately preceding text appears at serial pages (305577) to (305578).

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.