Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 54 Pa.B. 1032 (February 24, 2024).

49 Pa. Code § 40.19. Renewal of physical therapist license.

§ 40.19. Renewal of physical therapist license.

 (a)  A license issued under this subchapter expires on December 31 of each even-numbered year unless renewed for the next biennium.

 (b)  If a licensee’s mailing address changes, the licensee shall notify the Board in writing within 10 days thereafter. Notice of renewal will be forwarded to the licensee’s last known address on file with the Board. Failure of the Board to send or of the licensee to receive a biennial renewal application does not relieve the licensee of the biennial renewal responsibility.

 (c)  A licensee applying for biennial renewal shall:

   (1)  Complete and submit the renewal application, including payment of the biennial renewal fee in §  40.5 (relating to fees) for application for biennial renewal of physical therapist license.

   (2)  Disclose any license to practice as a physical therapist in another state, territory, possession or country.

   (3)  Disclose any disciplinary action pending before the appropriate healthcare licensing authority in any other jurisdiction or taken since the most recent application for renewal, whether or not licensed to practice in that other jurisdiction.

   (4)  Disclose any pending criminal charges and any finding or verdict of guilt, admission of guilt, plea of nolo contendere or other criminal conviction since the most recent application for renewal.

   (5)  Verify that the licensee has complied with the continuing education requirements mandated by section 7.2 of the act (63 P.S. §  1307.2) during the biennial period immediately preceding the period for which renewal is sought in accordance with §  40.67 (relating to continuing education for licensed physical therapist), including at least 2 hours of approved courses in child abuse recognition and reporting in accordance with §  40.208(b) (relating to child abuse recognition and reporting—mandatory training requirement). The Board will not renew a license if the licensee has not completed the continuing education required under §  40.67 during the biennial period immediately preceding the period for which renewal is sought.

   (6)  Verify that, if practicing as a physical therapist in this Commonwealth, the licensee maintains professional liability insurance coverage in accordance with section 9(b)(4) of the act (63 P.S. §  1309(b)(4)) and §  40.69 (relating to professional liability insurance).


   The provisions of this §  40.19 issued under section 3(a) of the Physical Therapy Practice Act (63 P.S. §  1303(a)); and section 16 of the act of July 4, 2008 (P.L. 293, No. 38); amended under section 3(a) of the Physical Therapy Practice Act (63 P.S. §  1303(a)); and 23 Pa.C.S. §  6383(b)(2).


   The provisions of this §  40.19 adopted December 21, 2012, effective December 22, 2012, 42 Pa.B. 7652; amended August 6, 2021, effective August 7, 2021, 51 Pa.B. 4325. Immediately preceding text appears at serial pages (391935) to (391936).

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.