Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 54 Pa.B. 1806 (March 30, 2024).

49 Pa. Code § 41.11. Licenses.


§ 41.11. Licenses.

 (a)  To be considered for admission to the examination provided in the act, an applicant shall first file with the Board or its designee:

   (1)  A completed application form and the application fee.

   (2)  Official transcripts of graduate work from an accredited college or university.

   (3)  A criminal history records information report completed by the Pennsylvania State Police dated within 90 days of the application. If the applicant resides outside of this Commonwealth, the criminal history report shall be completed by the law enforcement agency responsible for criminal history reports in the jurisdiction where the applicant resides.

   (4)  Child abuse history clearance completed by the Department of Human Services dated within 90 days of the application.

   (5)  An internship verification form and job description.

   (6)  Other forms or materials requested by the Board.

 (b)  An applicant who has demonstrated compliance with the education and experience requirements of the act and § §  41.31 and 41.32 (relating to educational qualifications; and experience qualifications), who has completed the procedures in subsection (a), who has passed the examination provided for in the act and who has satisfied the other qualifications for licensure set out in the act shall be granted a license by the Board. Only the holder of a current license shall have the right and privilege of using the title ‘‘psychologist’’ and of practicing psychology. Other professionals may, however, use official titles and engage in the practice of psychology or do work of a psychological nature insofar as they are excepted from licensure by applicable provisions under section 3 of the act (63 P.S. §  1203).

 (c)  Each licensee is issued a wall certificate indicating initial licensure and a registration packet including a biennial renewal certificate and a wallet-size license card, both of which show the expiration date of the license. Licenses expire on November 30 of each odd-numbered year, regardless of the date of issuance.

 (d)  Licenses are renewable for a 2-year period beginning December 1 of each odd-numbered year. The fee for biennial renewal is set by the Board. See §  41.12 (relating to fees). Late fees as prescribed by the Bureau of Professional and Occupational Affairs Fee Act (63 P.S. § §  1401-101—1401-501) shall be added to the renewal fees of licensees who do not submit their renewal applications by December 1 of the year of expiration of their licenses. Upon renewing their licenses, licensees receive new biennial renewal certificates and wallet-size license cards which show the next expiration date of the license. These documents are the only evidence of valid, current licensure.

 (e)  Fees as prescribed by the Bureau of Professional and Occupational Affairs Fee Act shall be charged for duplicate wall certificates and biennial renewal documents. Duplicates will be issued only upon submission by the licensee of a notarized statement specifying that the original has been lost or destroyed and stating that the duplicate will be returned if the original is recovered.


   The provisions of this §  41.11 amended under section 812.1 of The Administrative Code of 1929 (71 P.S. §  279.3a); sections 3.2(1) and (2), 3.3, 6, 6(a) and 8(a)(6) of the Professional Psychologists Practice Act (63 P.S. § §  1203.2(1) and (2), 1203.3 and 1206, 1206(a)(2) and 1208(a)(6)); and 23 Pa.C.S. §  6383(b)(2).


   The provisions of this §  41.11 adopted February 6, 1976, effective February 7, 1976, 6 Pa.B. 229; amended March 17, 1978, effective March 18, 1978, 8 Pa.B. 756; amended April 13, 1990, effective April 14, 1990, 20 Pa.B. 2034; corrected April 27, 1990, effective April 14, 1990, 20 Pa.B. 2286; amended March 22, 1991, effective March 23, 1991, 21 Pa.B. 1171; amended January 25, 2002, effective January 26, 2002, 32 Pa.B. 424; amended June 4, 2010, effective June 5, 2010, 40 Pa.B. 2947; amended December 29, 2023, effective December 30, 2023, 53 Pa.B. 8229. Immediately preceding text appears at serial pages (349704) and (408375).

Cross References

   This section cited in 49 Pa. Code §  41.13 (relating to reactivation of license); and 49 Pa. Code §  41.30 (relating to qualifications and documentation necessary for licensure).

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.