Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 54 Pa.B. 488 (January 27, 2024).

49 Pa. Code § 41.52. Persons licensed in other states.

§ 41.52. Persons licensed in other states.

 (a)  A person who holds a current license or certificate to practice psychology issued by a statutory board of psychologist examiners of a state with requirements for licensure which are deemed by the Board to be equivalent to those of the Commonwealth may be exempt from examination. Application for licensure under these circumstances shall be made on forms supplied by the Board and shall be accompanied by the initial application fee specified in §  41.12 (relating to fees). Applicants under this section shall be required to complete at least 3 hours of training in child abuse recognition and reporting in accordance with §  41.77(a) (relating to child abuse recognition and reporting—mandatory training requirement).

 (b)  An applicant who has passed the National portion of the examination with a score equivalent to or higher than the passing score then prevailing in this Commonwealth will not be required to repeat this portion of the examination.

 (c)  In accordance with section 3(7) of the act (63 P.S. §  1203(7)), a psychologist licensed for independent practice by a statutory board of psychologist examiners of another state or a province of Canada, whose license is current and in good standing, may practice psychology on temporary assignment in this Commonwealth for up to 6 months, after written notification to the Board and receipt from the Board, in writing, of temporary permission to practice. The Board will grant no more than one extension of the 6-month period, the extension not to exceed an additional 6 months. Requests for extensions shall be made to the Board in writing. A psychologist on temporary assignment in this Commonwealth for an aggregate of no more than 14 days is exempted from the notification requirement.


   The provisions of this §  41.52 amended under section 3.2(1) and (2) of the Professional Psychologists Practice Act (63 P.S. §  1203.2(1) and (2)); and 23 Pa.C.S. §  6383(b)(2).


   The provisions of this §  41.52 adopted March 17, 1978, effective March 18, 1978, 8 Pa.B. 756; amended March 22, 1991, effective March 23, 1991, 21 Pa.B. 1171; amended May 22, 1998, effective May 23, 1998, 28 Pa.B. 2412; amended December 6, 2002, effective December 7, 2002, 32 Pa.B. 5956; amended December 29, 2023, effective December 30, 2023, 53 Pa.B. 8229. Immediately preceding text appears at serial page (408383).

Cross References

   This section cited in 49 Pa. Code §  41.59 (relating to continuing education).

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.