Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 54 Pa.B. 1806 (March 30, 2024).

49 Pa. Code § 48.17. Licensure by endorsement.

§ 48.17. Licensure by endorsement.

 To be issued a license by endorsement without examination as a marriage and family therapist, an applicant shall provide proof satisfactory to the Board, that the applicant has met the following conditions:

   (1)  Satisfied the general requirements for licensure of §  48.12 (relating to general qualifications for licensure).

   (2)  Satisfied the educational requirements in section 7(e)(2) of the act (63 P. S. §  1907(e)(2)) and §  48.13(a)(3) (relating to licensed MFT).

   (3)  Holds a marriage and family therapy license that is in good standing from another state. The applicant shall provide a letter from the other state’s licensing authority where the marriage and family therapist is licensed certifying licensure and reporting any disciplinary history.

   (4)  Demonstrates to the Board’s satisfaction that the applicant has completed a minimum of 3,000 hours of supervised clinical experience that conforms to the licensure requirements of the state in which the applicant is currently licensed.

   (5)  Demonstrates to the Board’s satisfaction that the applicant has, at a minimum, been actively engaged in the practice of marriage and family therapy for 5 of the last 7 years immediately preceding the filing of the application for licensure by endorsement with the Board.


   The provisions of this §  48.17 adopted August 26, 2011, effective August 27, 2011, 41 Pa.B. 4627.

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.