Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin
COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 52 Pa.B. 7348 (November 26, 2022).

49 Pa. Code § 49.58. Child abuse recognition and reporting—mandatory training requirement.

§ 49.58. Child abuse recognition and reporting—mandatory training requirement.

 (a)  Except as provided in subsection (c), individuals applying to the Board for a license as a professional counselor shall complete, as a condition of licensure, at least 3 hours of training in child abuse recognition and reporting requirements which has been approved by the Department of Human Services and the Bureau, as set forth in §  49.59 (relating to child abuse recognition and reporting course approval process). The applicant shall certify on the application that the applicant has either completed the required training or has been granted an exemption under subsection (c). The Board will not issue a license unless the Bureau has received an electronic report from an approved course provider documenting the attendance/participation by the applicant or the applicant has obtained an exemption under subsection (c).

 (b)  Except as provided in subsection (c), licensed professional counselors seeking renewal of a license issued by the Board shall complete, as a condition of biennial renewal of the license, at least 2 hours of approved continuing education in child abuse recognition and reporting as a portion of the total continuing education required for biennial renewal. For credit to be granted, the continuing education course or program must be approved by the Bureau, in consultation with the Department of Human Services, as set forth in §  49.59 (relating to child abuse recognition and reporting course approval process). The Board will not renew a license unless the Bureau has received an electronic report from an approved course provider documenting the attendance/participation by the licensee in an approved course within the applicable biennial renewal period or the licensee has obtained an exemption under subsection (c). If a licensee holds more than one license issued by the Board, or holds a license issued by another licensing Board within the Bureau that requires mandatory training in child abuse recognition and reporting, credit for completion of an approved course will be applied to both licenses.

 (c)  An applicant or licensee may apply in writing for an exemption from the training/continuing education requirements set forth in subsections (a) and (b) provided the applicant or licensee meets one of the following:

   (1)  The applicant or licensee submits documentation demonstrating that:

     (i)   The applicant or licensee has already completed child abuse recognition training as required by section 1205.6 of the Public School Code of 1949 (24 P.S. §  12-1205.6).

     (ii)   The training was approved by the Department of Education in consultation with the Department of Human Services.

     (iii)   The amount of training received equals or exceeds the amount of training or continuing education required under subsection (a) or (b), as applicable.

     (iv)   For purposes of licensure renewal, the training must have been completed during the relevant biennial renewal period.

   (2)  The applicant or licensee submits documentation demonstrating that:

     (i)   The applicant or licensee has already completed child abuse recognition training required by 23 Pa.C.S. §  6383(c) (relating to education and training).

     (ii)   The training was approved by the Department of Human Services.

     (iii)   The amount of training received equals or exceeds the amount of training or continuing education required under subsection (a) or (b), as applicable.

     (iv)   For purposes of licensure renewal, the training must have been completed during the relevant biennial renewal period.

   (3)  The applicant or licensee submits documentation acceptable to the Board demonstrating why the applicant or licensee should not be subject to the training or continuing education requirement. The Board will not grant an exemption based solely upon proof that children are not part of the applicant’s or licensee’s practice. Each request for an exemption under this paragraph will be considered on a case-by-case basis. The Board may grant the exemption if it finds that completion of the training or continuing education requirement is duplicative or unnecessary under the circumstances.

 (d)  Exemptions granted under subsection (c) are applicable only for the biennial renewal period for which the exemption is requested. If an exemption is granted, the Board will issue or renew the license, as applicable. If an exemption is denied, the Board will e-mail the applicant or licensee a discrepancy notice notifying them of the need to either complete an approved course or, if warranted, to submit additional documentation in support of their request for an exemption.

Authority

   The provisions of this §  49.58 added under section 6(2) of the Social Workers, Marriage Family Therapists and Professional Counselors Act (63 P.S. §  1906(2)); and 23 Pa.C.S. § §  6301—6388.

Source

   The provisions of this §  48.59 added March 18, 2022, effective March 19, 2022, 52 Pa.B. 1608.

Cross References

   This section cited in 49 Pa. Code §  49.12 (relating to general qualifications for licensure); 49 Pa. Code §  49.32 (relating to requirement for biennial renewal); and 49 Pa. Code §  49.51 (relating to definitions relating to child abuse reporting requirements).



No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.


This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.