Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 54 Pa.B. 1806 (March 30, 2024).

49 Pa. Code § 5.12. Licensure by examination.

§ 5.12. Licensure by examination.

 (a)  An applicant for license by examination shall present evidence of the following:

   (1)  Graduation from an approved chiropractic college.

   (2)  Passing scores on Parts I, II, III and IV of the National Board Examination.

 (b)  The applicant shall complete an application obtained from the Board detailing the applicant’s education and experience, and certifying that the applicant has met the requirements for licensure under the act and this chapter. The application shall be returned to the Board with the required fee.

 (c)  The applicant shall provide proof that the applicant has obtained professional liability insurance in accordance with §  5.41 (relating to certification of professional liability insurance). It is sufficient if the applicant files with the application a copy of a letter from the applicant’s professional liability insurance carrier indicating that the applicant will be covered against professional liability in the required amounts effective upon the issuance of the applicant’s license to practice chiropractic in this Commonwealth. Upon issuance of the license, the licensee has 30 days to submit to the Board the certificate of insurance or a copy of the policy declaration page as described in §  5.41. The effective date of this subsection is September 1, 1988.

 (d)  The applicant shall submit, or cause to be submitted, evidence of having completed at least 3 hours of approved training in child abuse recognition and reporting in accordance with §  5.97(a) (relating to child abuse recognition and reporting—mandatory training requirement).


   The provisions of this §  5.12 issued under section 302 of the Chiropractic Practice Act (63 P.S. §  625.302); amended under section 302(3) of the Chiropractic Practice Act (63 P.S. §  625.302); section 812.1 of The Administrative Code of 1929 (71 P.S. §  279.3a); and 23 Pa.C.S. §  6383(b)(2).


   The provisions of this §  5.12 adopted December 27, 1991, effective December 28, 1991, 21 Pa.B. 5944; amended May 23, 1997, effective May 24, 1997, 27 Pa.B. 2540; amended November 3, 2023, effective November 4, 2023, 53 Pa.B. 6830. Immediately preceding text appears at serial pages (387290) and (368183).

Cross References

   This section cited in 49 Pa. Code §  5.15 (relating to licensure examinations).

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.