Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin
COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 52 Pa.B. 6342 (October 1, 2022).

49 Pa. Code § 5.17. Biennial registration; unregistered status and inactive status;failure to renew; address of record.

§ 5.17. Biennial registration; unregistered status and inactive status;failure to renew; address of record.

 (a)  A licensee shall register each biennial period to retain the right to practice in this Commonwealth. Initial registration shall automatically occur when a license is issued. Registration for a biennial period shall expire on September 1 of every even numbered year.

 (b)  A limited license shall be issued for a period not to exceed 1 year and may not be renewed.

 (c)  Certification to use adjunctive procedures shall automatically be renewed upon biennial registration.

 (d)  Applications for biennial registration shall be made on forms supplied by the Board. These forms shall be received by the Board with the required registration fee by the expiration of the previous biennial registration period.

 (e)  Biennial registration forms and other forms and literature distributed by the Board will be forwarded to the last mailing address given to the Board by the licensee. If a licensee changes his mailing address of record, the licensee shall notify the Board in writing within 10 days thereafter. Failure of the Board to send or of the licensee to receive a biennial registration application does not relieve the licensee of the biennial registration responsibility.

 (f)  An application for biennial registration shall contain the following information in the manner indicated on the application form:

   (1)  Other licenses, certificates or authorizations to practice issued, and disciplinary sanctions and criminal dispositions instituted, as required by section 523 of the act (63 P. S. §  625.523) and §  5.18 (relating to reporting of other licenses, certificates or authorizations to practice, disciplinary sanctions and criminal dispositions).

   (2)  Proof of professional liability insurance as required by section 508 of the act (63 P. S. §  625.508) and §  5.41 (relating to certification of professional liability insurance).

   (3)  Proof of attendance at continuing education courses during the previous biennial registration period as required by section 507 of the act (63 P. S. §  625.507) and §  5.14 (relating to certification to use adjunctive procedures), if proof was not filed by the expiration of that biennial registration period.

 (g)  A licensee failing to file biennial registration application or pay the required registration fee by the registration date will have the license classified as unregistered. As long as a licensee holds an unregistered license, the licensee is not permitted to practice in this Commonwealth. A licensee who does so when the license was unregistered will be required to pay a penalty fee of $5 for each month or part of a month since the expiration of the biennial registration and may be subject to disciplinary proceedings before the Board or criminal prosecution, or both.

 (h)  A licensee who does not intend to practice in this Commonwealth and who does not desire to renew registration shall notify the Board in writing. Upon receipt of this notification, the Board will classify the license as inactive.

 (i)  The Board will not mail biennial registration forms to a licensee whose license is classified as inactive or unregistered, unless the licensee requests, in writing, that the Board renew the license.

 (j)  To renew an inactive or unregistered license, a licensee shall file an application for biennial registration, pay the current and back registration and penalty fees which are due, submit a notarized affidavit setting forth the time in which the licensee did not practice in this Commonwealth, submit a resume of activities since the license was last registered, submit a letter of good standing from another state where the licensee has been practicing and submit evidence of compliance with continuing education and professional liability insurance requirements in accordance with the act and this chapter.

 (k)  A licensee will not be assessed a fee or penalty for preceding biennial registration periods in which the licensee did not practice in this Commonwealth.

 (l)  If all other conditions are met as set forth in the act and this chapter, current registration will be issued upon the payment of registration and penalty fees which have accrued.

 (m)  To reactivate a license that has been inactive for more than 5 years, the licensee shall satisfy all other requirements for reactivation required by this section, including the continuing education requirements, and establish current competence to practice by at least one of the following:

   (1)  Successful completion of the examinations required under §  5.15(a) (relating to licensure examinations) within 1 year prior to application for reactivation.

   (2)  Compliance with §  5.13 (relating to licensure by reciprocity).

   (3)  Proof of continuous licensed practice of chiropractic in one or more other jurisdictions of the United States or Canada for at least 5 years immediately preceding application for reactivation and successful completion of the examination required by §  5.15(a)(2) (relating to licensure by examination).

   (4)  Successful completion of both of the following examinations within 6 months prior to application for reactivation:

     (i)   The examination required by §  5.15(a)(2).

     (ii)   The Special Purpose Examination in Chiropractic administered by the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners.

Authority

   The provisions of this §  5.17 issued under section 302 of the Chiropractic Practice Act (63 P. S. §  625.302); amended under sections 302(3) and 501(b) of the Chiropractic Practice Act (63 P. S. § §  625.302 and 625.501).

Source

   The provisions of this §  5.17 adopted December 27, 1991, effective December 28, 1991, 21 Pa.B. 5944; amended November 28, 2008, effective November 29, 2008, 38 Pa.B. 6471. Immediately preceding text appears at serial pages (230604) and (238239) to (238240).

Cross References

   This section cited in 49 Pa. Code §  5.20 (relating to volunteer license); and 49 Pa. Code §  5.77 (relating to failure to meet continuing education requirements).



No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.


This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.