Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 54 Pa.B. 1806 (March 30, 2024).

49 Pa. Code § 6.11. General requirements.


§ 6.11. General requirements.

 (a)  An individual who engages in the operation of a crane in this Commonwealth shall be licensed by the Board, or shall be authorized to operate a crane as a trainee.

 (b)  An individual who holds a license as a crane operator shall have the right to use the title ‘‘Licensed Crane Operator’’ and the abbreviation ‘‘L.C.O.’’

 (c)  To qualify as a candidate for licensure, the applicant shall:

   (1)  Be 18 years of age or older.

   (2)  Be of good moral character.

   (3)  Present satisfactory evidence to the Board that the applicant possesses a current certification, or qualifies for licensure without certification under section 506 of the act (63 P. S. §  2400.506).

   (4)  Aver subject to penalties for unsworn falsification to authorities under 18 Pa.C.S. §  4904 (relating to unsworn falsification to authorities), that the applicant has been examined by a physician and determined to be physically capable of operating a crane.

   (5)  Pay all requisite fees.

 (d)  Felony convictions under The Controlled Substance, Drug, Device and Cosmetic Act (35 P. S. § §  780-101—780-144), or an offense under the laws of another jurisdiction which if committed in this Commonwealth would be a felony under The Controlled Substance, Drug, Device and Cosmetic Act, will preclude an applicant from obtaining or maintaining a license to operate a crane unless:

   (1)  At least 10 years have elapsed from the date of conviction.

   (2)  The individual satisfactorily demonstrates to the Board that the individual has made significant progress in personal rehabilitation since the conviction so that licensure of the individual should not be expected to create a substantial risk of harm to the health and safety of crane operators, trainees or the public or a substantial risk of further criminal violations.

   (3)  The individual otherwise satisfies the qualifications provided in the act and this chapter.

   (4)  The Board will evaluate an individual’s progress in personal rehabilitation from the totality of the circumstances, including, but not limited to, the individual’s entire criminal history, employment history, the severity and frequency of past criminal history, whether and for how long the individual has abstained from substance abuse, refrained from tortious or criminal conduct, made restitution or compensation, followed a course of treatment and therapy, completed a program of education, offers testimony from other persons of the individual’s good character, and practices an ongoing commitment to recovery.

 (e)  An applicant who has a conviction described in subsection (d) shall report the conviction on a form prescribed by the Board, and attach documentary evidence in support of the factors identified in subsection (d)(1), (2) and (4).

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.