Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 54 Pa.B. 1032 (February 24, 2024).

49 Pa. Code § 7.43. Expiration and renewal of licenses.

§ 7.43. Expiration and renewal of licenses.

 (a)  Licenses issued by the Board expire at biennial intervals. A license renewal notice is mailed to each licensee approximately 4 weeks before the license expiration date. Renewal of the license is accomplished by submission of the license renewal application and the license renewal fee prescribed in §  7.2 (relating to fees).

 (b)  A licensee who fails to file the biennial renewal application or pay the required biennial renewal fee by the renewal date shall have the license classified as unregistered. As long as a licensee holds an unregistered license, the licensee is not permitted to practice in this Commonwealth. A licensee who practices during a period in which the license was unregistered shall be required to pay a penalty fee of $5, as prescribed in §  7.2, for each month or part of a month that the licensee practices since the expiration of the biennial renewal and may be subject to disciplinary proceedings before the Board or criminal prosecution, or both.

 (c)  Within 2 years of the initial issuance of a natural hair braider license issued without examination under §  7.31(c) (relating to examination prerequisite for licensure; exceptions), the natural hair braider licensee shall provide to the Board a certified copy of a school transcript, a certified copy of a scholastic record required by §  7.119 (relating to student records), or an equivalent document certified by a licensed school of cosmetology, that demonstrates that the licensee has completed 150 hours of education from a licensed school of cosmetology as a condition of renewal of the license. The 150 hours of education must include, at a minimum:

   (1)  Fifty hours in scalp care.

   (2)  Fifty hours in hygiene.

   (3)  Twenty-five hours in occupational safety, the provisions of the act and this chapter.

   (4)  Twenty-five hours in natural hair braiding techniques, such as locking and weaving.


   The provisions of this §  7.43 amended under sections 5 and 11 of the act of May 3, 1933 (P. L. 242, No. 86) (63 P. S. § §  511 and 517).


   The provisions of this §  7.43 adopted September 12, 1975, effective September 13, 1975, 5 Pa.B. 2391; amended May 24, 1991, effective May 25, 1991, 21 Pa.B. 2479; amended January 9, 2009, effective January 10, 2009, 39 Pa.B. 219. Immediately preceding text appears at serial page (201680).

Cross References

   This section cited in 49 Pa. Code §  43b.5 (relating to schedule of civil penalties—cosmetologists, manicurists, cosmeticians, shops).

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.