Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin
COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 51 Pa.B. 6892 (October 30, 2021).

52 Pa. Code § 1021.9. Taxicab driver test.

§ 1021.9. Taxicab driver test.

 (Editor’s Note: This regulation has been recognized as invalid as applied to partial-rights taxicabs. Germantown Cab Company v. Philadelphia Parking Authority, 155 A.3d 669 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2017).)

 (a)  The Authority will develop a test to assure that applicants for taxicab driver’s certificates and wheelchair accessible vehicle (WAV) taxicab driver’s certificates understand the information presented during training as provided in §  1021.8 (relating to certain training subjects).

 (b)  The test will be administered in the English language. The assistance of interpreters will not be permitted. An applicant’s responses to all test questions shall be in the English language.

 (c)  Except as limited by this chapter, the test may be administered in a manner and in a form deemed appropriate by the Authority. The test may include:

   (1)  Questions requiring a written response. 5662. Immediately preceding text appears at serial pages (360448) to (360449).

   (2)  Multiple choice questions.

   (3)  Oral questions.

   (4)  The demonstration of an ability to operate a motor vehicle and use taxicab related equipment.

   (5)  For WAV taxicab driver applicants, the demonstration of an ability to operate a WAV taxicab and to assist with the entry, exit and securing of a passenger in a wheelchair in the WAV taxicab.

 (d)  Failure to pass the test required by this section after three attempts will render the application void.

 (e)  Failure to pass the test required by this section within 90 days of filing Form No. DR-1 application as provided in §  1021.5 (relating to standards for obtaining a taxicab driver’s certificate) will render the application void.

 (f)  Except as provided in §  1021.5a (relating to special wheelchair accessible vehicle taxicab driver’s certificate and requirements), upon the denial or voiding of a Form No. DR-1 or Form No. DR-4 as provided in this chapter an applicant may not reapply for a driver’s certificate for 6 months.

Source

   The provisions of this §  1021.9 amended August 29, 2014, effective August 30, 2014, 44 Pa.B. 5662. Immediately preceding text appears at serial page (360449).

Cross References

   This section cited in 52 Pa. Code §  1021.8 (relating to certain training subjects).



No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.


This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.