Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin
COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 54 Pa.B. 1032 (February 24, 2024).

52 Pa. Code § 54.36. Protests to applications.

§ 54.36. Protests to applications.

 (a)  Consistent with §  5.14(b) (relating to applications requiring notice), a 15-day protest period commences on the date notice of the application filing is published in newspapers. An interested party may file a protest to an application in compliance with §  5.52(a) (relating to content of a protest to an application) and shall set out clearly and concisely the facts upon which challenge to the fitness of the applicant is based. An applicant may file an answer to the protest within 10 days of when the protest is filed. Protests which do not fully comply with §  5.52(a) will be rejected.

 (b)  Protests may challenge only the applicant’s financial and technical fitness to provide the service for which a license is requested. Consistent with the requirements of due process, sanctions, such as revocation or suspension of a supplier’s license or the imposition of a fine, may be imposed on parties who intentionally misuse the protest process by repeated filing of competitive protests.

 (c)  A protest to the applicant’s technical or financial fitness to provide service will be assigned to Commission staff for review. Staff will determine if the protest fully complies with §  5.52(a) and sets out clearly and concisely the facts upon which the challenge to the fitness of the applicant is based. Staff will determine if the protest is sufficiently documented. If a protest is not sufficiently documented, Commission staff will prepare a recommendation for Commission consideration dismissing the protest and granting the application. If a protest is sufficiently documented, the application will be transferred to the Office of Administrative Law Judge for hearings or mediation as deemed appropriate.



No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.


This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.