Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin
COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 54 Pa.B. 1806 (March 30, 2024).

52 Pa. Code § 59.22. Adjustment of bills for meter error.

§ 59.22. Adjustment of bills for meter error.

 (a)  Fast meters. If, upon test of a meter, it is found to have an average error of more than 2.0% fast, the public utility shall refund to or credit the customer for the overcharge, based upon what the meter would have registered had it not been fast or slow for a period equal to 1/2 the time elapsed since the last previous test, but not to exceed 12 months or 1/2 the period of occupancy of the premises by the customer, whichever is less. If the period of registration error may be definitely fixed, the overcharge shall be computed for the period. If the meter has not been tested under §  59.21 (relating to meter tests), the period for which it has been in service beyond the regular test period shall be included in computing the refund.

 (b)  Slow meters. If, upon test of a gas meter it is found to have an average error of more than 2.0% slow, the public utility may render a bill for the gas consumed but not covered by bills previously rendered, for a period equal to 1/2 of the time elapsed since the last previous test, but not to exceed 3 months. If the period of registration error may be definitely fixed, the charge may be computed for the period.

 (c)  Nonregistering meters. If a meter has failed to register for a period, the public utility may compute the gas used by taking the average of the gas used for the nearest meter-reading period preceding and the meter-reading period immediately following the date when the meter was found to be not registering, which amount shall be assumed to be the amount of gas used by the customer during the billing period in which the meter was found not to have registered. Exceptions will be made only if the facts clearly show that the stated method does not give the correct consumption for the period.

Source

   The provisions of this §  59.22 amended May 30, 1986, effective May 31, 1986, 16 Pa.B. 1901. Immediately preceding text appears at serial pages (73210) to (73211).



No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.


This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.