§ 2600.263. Appeals of penalty.
(a) If the home that is fined intends to appeal the amount of the penalty or the fact of the violation, the home shall forward the assessed penalty, not to exceed $500, to the Secretary for placement in an escrow account with the State Treasurer. A letter appealing the penalty shall be submitted with the assessed penalty. This process constitutes an appeal.
(b) If, through an administrative hearing or judicial review of the proposed penalty, it is determined that no violation occurred or that the amount of the penalty shall be reduced, the Secretary will, within 30 days, remit the appropriate amount to the legal entity together with interest accumulated on these funds in the escrow deposit.
(c) Failure to forward payment of the assessed penalty to the Secretary within 30 days will result in a waiver of the right to contest the fact of the violation or the amount of the penalty.
(d) After an administrative hearing decision that is adverse to the legal entity, or a waiver of the administrative hearing, the assessed penalty amount will be made payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. It will be collectible in a manner provided by law for the collection of debts.
(e) If a home liable to pay the penalty neglects or refuses to pay the penalty upon demand, the failure to pay will constitute a judgment in favor of the Commonwealth in the amount of the penalty, together with the interest and costs that may accrue on these funds.
No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.
This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.