Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 52 Pa.B. 3668 (June 25, 2022).

55 Pa. Code § 2600.54. Qualifications for direct care staff persons.

§ 2600.54. Qualifications for direct care staff persons.

 (a)  Direct care staff persons shall have the following qualifications:

   (1)  Be 18 years of age or older, except as permitted in subsection (b).

   (2)  Have a high school diploma, GED or active registry status on the Pennsylvania nurse aide registry.

   (3)  Be free from a medical condition, including drug or alcohol addiction, that would limit direct care staff persons from providing necessary personal care services with reasonable skill and safety.

 (b)  An individual who is 16 or 17 years of age may be a staff person at a home, but may not perform tasks related to medication administration. A staff person who is 16 or 17 years of age may not perform tasks related to incontinence care, bathing or dressing of residents without supervision.

 (c)  A volunteer who performs ADLs shall meet the staff person qualifications and training requirements specified in this chapter.

 (d)  A resident receiving personal care services who voluntarily performs tasks in the home will not be considered a volunteer under this chapter.

Cross References

   This section cited in 55 Pa. Code §  2600.61 (relating to substitute personnel).

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.