Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 54 Pa.B. 1806 (March 30, 2024).

55 Pa. Code § 3280.151. Health assessment.


§ 3280.151. Health assessment.

 (a)  A facility person providing direct care who comes into contact with the children or who works with food preparation shall have a health assessment conducted within 12 months prior to providing initial service in a child care setting and every 24 months thereafter. A health assessment is valid for 24 months following the date of signature, if the person does not contract a communicable disease or develop a medical problem.

 (b)  A health assessment shall be conducted and a report shall be written and signed by a physician, physician’s assistant or CRNP. The signature must include the individual’s professional title.

 (c)  The health assessment must include the following:

   (1)  A physical examination.

   (2)  Tuberculosis screening by the Mantoux method at initial employment. Subsequent tuberculosis screening is not required unless directed by a physician, physician’s assistant, CRNP, Department of Health or local health department.

     (i)   If a person’s medical record demonstrates a positive tuberculin skin test, that record shall be placed on file at the facility.

     (ii)   A record of a person with a positive tuberculin skin test must include the results of a chest x-ray and evaluation for chemoprophylaxis.

     (iii)   A person with a positive tuberculin skin test and a negative x-ray is not required to have further tuberculosis testing, unless one of the following occurs:

       (A)   The person is exposed to an active case of tuberculosis.

       (B)   The person develops a productive cough which does not respond to medical treatment within 14 days.

   (3)  Examination for communicable diseases and the results of that examination.

   (4)  Information on medical problems which might threaten the health of the children or prohibit a staff person from providing adequate care to children.

   (5)  The physician’s or CRNP’s assessment of the person’s suitability to provide child care.

 (d)  An adult individual who is employed by a facility and who provides children with social, medical, psychological or psychiatric services in addition to this chapter is required to have a current health assessment on file at the facility. An adult individual or an employe of an agency who provides those services by contract with the child’s parent or the facility is not required to have a current health assessment on file at the facility.


   The provisions of this §  3280.151 amended under Articles IX and X of the Human Services Code (62 P.S. § §  901—922 and 1001—1088).


   The provisions of this §  3280.151 amended May 23, 2008, effective September 22, 2008, 38 Pa.B. 2437. Immediately preceding text appears at serial pages (204635) to (204636).

Cross References

   This section cited in 55 Pa. Code §  3280.221 (relating to requirements specific to school-age programs).

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.