Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 54 Pa.B. 1806 (March 30, 2024).

55 Pa. Code § 3490.61. Supervisory review and child contacts.

§ 3490.61. Supervisory review and child contacts.

 (a)  The county agency supervisor shall review each report of suspected child abuse which is under investigation on a regular and ongoing basis to ensure that the level of services are consistent with the level of risk to the child, to determine the safety of the child and the progress made toward reaching a status determination. The supervisor shall maintain a log of these reviews which at a minimum shall include an entry at 10-calendar day intervals during the investigation period.

 (b)  When a case has been accepted for service and a family service plan has been developed under Chapter 3130 (relating to the administration of county children and youth social service programs), the county agency supervisor shall, within 10-calendar days of the completion of the family service plan, review the plan to assure that the level of activity, in person contacts with the child, oversight, supervision and services for the child and family contained in the plan, are consistent with the level of risk determined by the county agency for the case. Documentation of this review shall be in the case record.

 (c)  When a case has been accepted for service, the county agency shall monitor the safety of the child and assure that contacts are made with the child, parents and service providers. The contacts may occur either directly by a county agency worker or through purchase of service, by phone or in person but face-to-face contacts with the parent and the child must occur as often as necessary for the protection of the child but no less often than:

   (1)  Once a week until the case is no longer designated as high risk by the county agency, if the child remains in or returns to the home in which the abuse occurred and the county agency has determined a high level of risk exists for the case.

   (2)  Once a month for 6 months or case closure when the child is either:

     (i)   Placed out of the home or setting in which the abuse occurred.

     (ii)   Not at a high risk of abuse or neglect.

 (d)  A periodic assessment of the risk of harm to the child shall be conducted as required by the State-approved risk assessment process.

 (e)  The county agency shall monitor the provision of services and evaluate the effectiveness of the services provided under the family service plan under §  3130.63 (relating to review of family service plans). The county agency worker shall visit the family in performing the case management responsibilities as required by §  3130.63 as often as necessary for management of the services provided but at least every 180-calendar days.

 (f)  The family service plan shall contain a provision that requires the parents advise the county agency, within 24 hours, when the child or family move from one residence to another.


   The provisions of this §  3490.61 adopted December 20, 1985, effective January 1, 1986, 15 Pa.B. 4547; amended July 2, 1999, effective July 3, 1999, 29 Pa.B. 3513. Immediately preceding text appears at serial pages (211734) to (211735).

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.