Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin
COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 51 Pa.B. 3586 (June 26, 2021).

55 Pa. Code § 6100.51. Complaints.

§ 6100.51. Complaints.

 (a)  The provider shall develop procedures to receive, document and manage complaints about a service that are submitted by or on behalf of an individual.

 (b)  The provider shall inform the individual, and persons designated by the individual, upon initial entry into the provider’s program and annually thereafter of the right to file a complaint and the procedure for filing a complaint.

 (c)  The provider shall permit and respond to an oral or written complaint from any source, including an anonymous source, regarding the delivery of a service.

 (d)  The provider shall assure that there is no retaliation or threat of intimidation relating to the filing or investigation of a complaint.

 (e)  If an individual indicates the desire to file a complaint in writing, the provider shall offer and provide assistance to the individual to prepare and submit the written complaint.

 (f)  The provider shall document and manage a complaint, including a repeated complaint.

 (g)  The provider shall document the following information for each complaint, including an oral, written or anonymous complaint, submitted by or on behalf of an individual:

   (1)  The name, position, telephone number, e-mail address and mailing address of the initiator of the complaint, if known.

   (2)  The date and time the complaint was received.

   (3)  The date of the occurrence, if applicable.

   (4)  The nature of the complaint.

   (5)  The provider’s investigation process, findings and actions to resolve the complaint, if applicable.

   (6)  The date the complaint was resolved.

 (h)  The provider shall resolve the complaint and report the findings or resolution to the complainant within 30 days of the date the complaint was submitted unless the provider is unable to resolve the complaint within 30 days due to circumstances beyond the provider’s control. In such instances, the provider shall document the basis for not resolving the complaint within 30 days and shall report the complaint findings or resolution within 30 days after the circumstances beyond the provider’s control no longer exist.

Cross References

   This section cited in 55 Pa. Code §  6100.43 (relating to regulatory waiver); 55 Pa. Code §  6100.801 (relating to agency with choice); 55 Pa. Code §  6100.804 (relating to base-funding); and 55 Pa. Code §  6100.805 (relating to vendor goods and services).



No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.


This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.