Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 52 Pa.B. 6342 (October 1, 2022).

55 Pa. Code § 6400.110. Smoke detectors and fire alarms.

§ 6400.110. Smoke detectors and fire alarms.

 (a)  A home shall have a minimum of one operable automatic smoke detector on each floor, including the basement and attic.

 (b)  There shall be an operable automatic smoke detector located within 15 feet of each individual and staff bedroom door.

 (c)  The smoke detectors specified in subsections (a) and (b) shall be located in common areas or hallways.

 (d)  Smoke detectors and fire alarms shall be of a type approved by the Department of Labor and Industry or listed by Underwriters Laboratories.

 (e)  If the home serves four or more individuals or if the home has three or more stories including the basement and attic, there shall be at least one smoke detector on each floor interconnected and audible throughout the home or an automatic fire alarm system that is audible throughout the home. The requirement for homes with three or more stories does not apply to homes licensed in accordance with this chapter prior to November 8, 1991.

 (f)  If one or more individuals or staff persons are not able to hear the smoke detector or fire alarm system, all smoke detectors and fire alarms shall be equipped so that each person with a hearing impairment will be alerted in the event of a fire.

 (g)  If a smoke detector or fire alarm is inoperative, notification for repair shall be made within 24 hours and repairs completed within 48 hours of the time the detector or alarm was found to be inoperative.

 (h)  There shall be a written procedure for fire safety monitoring in the event the smoke detector or fire alarm is inoperative.


   The provisions of this §  6400.110 adopted August 9, 1991, effective November 8, 1991, 21 Pa.B. 3595.

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.