Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 52 Pa.B. 6342 (October 1, 2022).

55 Pa. Code § 6400.142. Dental care.

§ 6400.142. Dental care.

 (a)  An individual 17 years of age or younger shall have a dental examination performed by a licensed dentist semiannually. An individual 18 years of age or older shall have a dental examination performed by a licensed dentist annually.

 (b)  An individual who is using medication known to cause dental problems shall have a dental examination by a licensed dentist at intervals recommended in writing by the dentist.

 (c)  A written record of the dental examination, including the date of the examination, the dentist’s name, procedures completed and follow-up treatment recommended, shall be kept.

 (d)  The dental examination shall include teeth cleaning or checking gums and dentures.

 (e)  Follow-up dental work indicated by the examination, such as treatment of cavities, shall be completed.

 (f)  An individual shall have a written plan for dental hygiene, unless the interdisciplinary team has documented in writing that the individual has achieved dental hygiene independence.

 (g)  A dental hygiene plan shall be rewritten at least annually.

 (h)  The dental hygiene plan shall be kept in the individual’s record.


   The provisions of this §  6400.142 adopted August 9, 1991, effective November 8, 1991, 21 Pa.B. 3595.

Cross References

   This section cited in 55 Pa. Code §  6400.261 (relating to exceptions for respite care); and 55 Pa. Code §  6400.262 (relating to exceptions for emergency respite care).

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.