Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 54 Pa.B. 1032 (February 24, 2024).

58 Pa. Code § 147.111a. Additional requirements for permittee.

§ 147.111a. Additional requirements for permittee.

 (a)  A permittee is prohibited from propagating raptors held under the authority of a falconry permit unless they possess a joint State/Federal raptor propagation permit.

 (b)  A permittee whose permit lapses or is otherwise suspended or revoked shall return any raptors possessed into the wild by hacking, transferring the raptors to another permitted falconer, or forfeiting the raptors to the Commission. Propagated, hybrid and nonindigenous raptors may not be released into the wild.

 (c)  A permittee may not sell, purchase, barter or offer to sell, purchase or barter a propagated raptor unless the raptor is marked on the metatarsus by a seamless, numbered band supplied by the United States Fish and Wildlife Service or the Commission.

 (d)  If a permittee’s raptor unintentionally injures or kills any wildlife during a closed season while engaged in falconry activities, the permittee shall comply with the notification and reporting requirements in section 2306 of the act (relating to killing game or wildlife by mistake). The permittee will not be required to pay any restitution fees unless the injury or taking is determined to be the result of carelessness or negligence. The permittee is not required to put the carcass of the injured or killed wildlife in a place of safekeeping, but rather may leave the carcass in the field and allow the raptor to feed upon it. Once the raptor is finished feeding, it may not be hunted the rest of that day.

 (e)  A raptor possessed under authority of a falconry permit may be temporarily held by a person other than the permittee only if that person is otherwise authorized to possess raptors, and only if the raptor is accompanied at all times by a properly completed United States Fish and Wildlife Service Form 3-186A designating the permittee as the possessor of record and by a signed, dated statement from the permittee. If the period of care will exceed 30 days, written permission shall be obtained from the Commission. Illness or disability of the permittee would be cause for temporary transfer of the raptors to another authorized person for care. The Commission shall be notified of this action within 5 days following the temporary transfer. Final disposition of the raptors will be at the discretion of the Commission.

 (f)  Molted feathers, or feathers from birds held in captivity that die, may be retained by the permittee for imping purposes only. Molted feathers and retrices from a golden eagle shall be collected and used for imping purposes or submitted to the National Eagle Repository.

 (g)  Carcasses of dead raptors shall be disposed in a proper waste receptacle or buried underground unless otherwise authorized by the Commission. The entire carcass of dead golden eagles, including all feathers, talons and other parts shall be submitted to the National Eagle Repository.

 (h)  Propagated, hybrid and nonindigenous raptors may not be intentionally released into the wild without prior written approval of the Commission.

 (i)  A sponsor may not have more than three apprentices at one time.


   The provisions of this §  147.111a issued under the Game and Wildlife Code, 34 Pa.C.S. § §  2102(a) and 2901(b).


   The provisions of this §  147.111a adopted November 27, 2009, effective January 1, 2010, 39 Pa.B. 6760.

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.