Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 54 Pa.B. 2336 (April 27, 2024).

58 Pa. Code § 163.306. Racing soundness examination.

§ 163.306. Racing soundness examination.

 (a)  A horse entered to race shall be available for a veterinary examination for racing soundness and health on race day. Horses entered to start in races one through five are required to be present 1 1/2 hours prior to the published post time of the first race. Horses entered to start in races six through the last race are required to be present 1 1/2 hours prior to the published post time of the fifth race.

 (b)  Commission stewards are granted the discretion to waive the time limits outlined in subsection (a) in proper and exceptional circumstances. They may not waive the prerace soundness examination, which will be conducted on all horses.

 (c)  The examination shall be referred to as the racing soundness exam.

 (d)  The examinations shall be conducted in or near the stall to which the animal is assigned and shall be conducted by a veterinarian employed by the Commission or approved by it.

 (e)  The veterinarian shall cause to be kept a continuing health and racing soundness record of each horse so examined.

 (f)  A horse which suffers a breakdown on the race track, in training or in competition, and is destroyed, and every other horse which expires while stabled on the race track under the jurisdiction of the Commission, shall undergo an examination at a time and place acceptable to the Commission veterinarian to determine the injury or sickness which resulted in euthanasia or natural death.

 (g)  The examination required under this section will be conducted by a veterinarian employed by the owner or his trainer in the presence of and in consultation with the Commission veterinarian.

 (h)  Test samples shall be obtained from the carcass upon which the examination is conducted and shall be sent to a laboratory approved by the Commission for testing for foreign substances and natural substances at abnormal levels. When practical, samples should be procured prior to euthanasia.

 (i)  The owner of the deceased horse shall make payment of charges due the veterinarian employed by him to conduct the examination. The services of the Commission veterinarian and the laboratory testing of samples shall be made available by the Commission without charge to the owner.

 (j)  A record of an examination shall be filed with the Commission by the owner’s veterinarian within 72 hours of the death and shall be submitted on a form supplied by the Commission.

 (k)  Each owner and trainer shall accept the responsibility for the examination provided for in this section as a requisite for maintaining the occupational license issued by the Commission.


   The provisions of this §  163.306 amended through November 7, 1980, effective November 8, 1980, 10 Pa.B. 4298. Immediately preceding text appears at serial page (51668).

Cross References

   This section cited in 58 Pa. Code §  163.302 (relating to foreign drugs, medications or substances); 58 Pa. Code §  163.303 (relating to prohibition; prima facie evidence; disqualification); and 58 Pa. Code §  163.308 (relating to official laboratory).

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.