Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 54 Pa.B. 2336 (April 27, 2024).

58 Pa. Code § 163.51. Persons required to be licensed.


§ 163.51. Persons required to be licensed.

 (a)  The following are required to be licensed by the Commission before engaging in an activity related to a race meeting licensed by the Commission. The annual license fees and expiration dates are set forth after each occupation:

   (1)   Owner—$25—June 30.

   (2)   Trainer—$15—June 30.

   (3)   Jockey—$10—December 31.

   (4)   Apprentice Jockey—$10—December 31.

   (5)   Assistant Trainer—$10—June 30.

   (6)   Jockey Agent—$10—December 31.

   (7)   Authorized Agent—$10—June 30.

   (8)   Official—$10—December 31.

   (9)   Veterinarian—$15—December 31.

   (10)   Farrier—$15—December 31.

   (11)   Pari-mutuel Employe—$5—December 31.

   (12)   Stable Employe—$5—December 31.

   (13)   Vendor—$15—December 31.

   (14)   Vendor Employe—$5—December 31.

   (15)   Track Employe—$5—December 31.

   (16)   Partnership—$10—June 30.

   (17)   Stable Name—$50—June 30.

   (18)   Duplicate—$2.

 (b)  In addition to the individuals listed in subsection (a), Commissioners and Commission employes, agents and representatives are required to be licensed; but there will be no fee charged for the licensure. Licenses issued to Commission employes will be sequentially numbered and will bear the complete name, photograph and job classification of the licensee. Licenses issued under this subsection will be effective for 1 year unless rescinded or revoked. The term, ‘‘Commission employe,’’ as used in this subsection, means a person who receives wages or salaries from the Commission.

 (c)  All 1984 licenses which are indicated in subsection (a) as expiring on June 30 will be issued for the 6-month period of January 1 to June 30, 1984, at 1/2 the listed fee. Other licenses will be effective for a period of 1 year, unless revoked.

 (d)  Licenses will be issued, at the discretion of the Commission’s director of licensing, subject to review by the Commission. In exercising this discretion, the director will consider §  163.56 (relating to requirements).

 (e)  Prospective licensees shall file an application on Commission forms, agree to be fingerprinted as may be required by the Commission and agree to full disclosure and investigation of criminal and employment records. The filing of an application for licensure shall constitute permission to take the applicant’s fingerprints, to investigate criminal and employment records, to engage in interviews to determine applicant’s character and qualifications and to verify the applicant’s statements. The criminal history and confidential information concerning Commission employes will be maintained separately in secured files by the director of licensing.

 (f)  Stable name licenses will be issued on a one-time basis, with no need for annual renewal.


   The provisions of this §  163.51 amended September 30, 1983, effective October 1, 1983, 13 Pa.B. 2988. Immediately preceding text appears at serial page (68710).

Cross References

   This section cited in 58 Pa. Code §  163.251 (relating to general provisions); 58 Pa. Code §  165.31 (relating to occupational and participation licenses); 58 Pa. Code §  171.41 (relating to facility requirements); and 58 Pa. Code §  171.45 (relating to wagering requirements).

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.