Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 54 Pa.B. 2336 (April 27, 2024).

58 Pa. Code § 163.54a. Application for trainer’s test.

§ 163.54a. Application for trainer’s test.

 (a)  A person who wishes to take a trainer’s test or assistant trainer’s test shall apply in writing from the board of stewards at the race track where he wishes to take the examination. The board of stewards will make a preliminary examination to insure that the applicant has or will have available horses to train and has a knowledge of the training and care of horses. Upon determination by the stewards that the applicant meets the requirements, the applicant shall be eligible to take the trainer’s or assistant trainer’s examination.

 (b)  The trainer’s test or assistant trainer’s test will consist of the following two parts:

   (1)  The first half of the test will be a practical examination known as the barn test. This test shall be supervised by the Commission steward or his designated representative, and given by a committee of trainers appointed by the Horsemens Benevolent Protective Association and approved by the Commission. Two or more trainers shall be present throughout the test. Upon completion the test shall be filed with the Commission steward.

   (2)  The other half of the test will be a written examination which will be scheduled and administered by the Commission executive staff.

 (c)  The applicant shall satisfactorily pass each test by a 75% score. An applicant who fails to pass either examination may apply for retesting no earlier than 14 days after the initial failure and no earlier than 90 days after each subsequent failure.


   The provisions of this §  163.54a adopted January 22, 1982, effective January 23, 1982, 12 Pa.B. 394.

Cross References

   This section cited in 58 Pa. Code §  163.251 (relating to general provisions).

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.