Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 54 Pa.B. 1806 (March 30, 2024).

210 Pa. Code Rule 1926. Correction or Modification of the Record.

Rule 1926. Correction or Modification of the Record.

 (a)  If any difference arises as to whether the record truly discloses what occurred in the trial court, the difference shall be submitted to and settled by that court after notice to the parties and opportunity for objection, and the record made to conform to the truth.

 (b)  If anything material to a party is omitted from the record by error, breakdown in processes of the court, or accident or is misstated therein, the omission or misstatement may be corrected by the following means:

   (1)  by the trial court or the appellate court upon application or on its own initiative at any time; in the event of correction or modification by the trial court, that court shall direct that a supplemental record be certified and transmitted if necessary; or

   (2)  by the parties by stipulation filed in the trial court, in which case, if the trial court clerk has already certified the record, the parties shall file in the appellate court a copy of any stipulation filed pursuant to this rule, and the trial court clerk shall certify and transmit as a supplemental record the materials described in the stipulation.

 (c)  The trial court clerk shall transmit any supplemental record required by this rule within 14 days of the order or stipulation that requires it.

 (d)  All other questions as to the form and content of the record shall be presented to the appellate court.

   Official Note

   The stipulation described in this rule need not be approved by the trial court or the appellate court, but both courts retain the authority to strike any stipulation that does not correct an omission or misstatement in the record.


   The provisions of this Rule 1926 amended December 11, 1978, effective December 30, 1978, 8 Pa.B. 3802; amended May 9, 2013, effective to appeals and petitions for review filed 30 days after adoption, 43 Pa.B. 2810. Immediately preceding text appears at serial pages (342234) to (342235).

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.