Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin
COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 53 Pa.B. 7346 (November 25, 2023).

246 Pa. Code Rule 506. Service of Complaint.

Rule 506. Service of Complaint.

 A.  The magisterial district judge shall serve the complaint by mailing a copy of it to the tenant’s last known address by first class mail and noting on the docket the date of such mailing, and by delivering a copy of it for service to the sheriff of, or any certified constable in, the county in which the office of the magisterial district judge is situated. If this service is not available to the magisterial district judge, service may be made by any certified constable of the Commonwealth. The officer receiving the copy shall serve it by handing it to the tenant or to an adult person in charge for the time being of the premises possession of which is sought to be recovered or, if none of the above is found, by posting it conspicuously on those premises.

 B.  The copy shall be served at least five days before the hearing.

   Official Note

   Under subdivision A of this rule, service must be made both by first class mail and delivery for service in the manner prescribed. In actions where wage garnishment may be sought under Pa.R.C.P. No. 3311, the landlord may authorize the sheriff or constable to make personal service upon the tenant. If the tenant is not present at the property the sheriff or constable is authorized to post the complaint so that the underlying landlord-tenant action may proceed. The landlord may authorize the sheriff or constable to make additional attempts to effectuate personal service upon the tenant so the landlord can later prove such service if attempting to garnish wages under Pa.R.C.P. No. 3311. Additional service attempts by the sheriff or constable may result in additional fees.

Source

   The provisions of this Rule 506 adopted October 15, 1969, effective January 1, 1970; amended July 8, 1975, effective immediately; amended October 17, 1975, effective in 90 days; amended January 29, 1976, effective in 30 days; amended April 25, 1979, effective in 30 days; amended June 30, 1982, effective 30 days after July 17, 1982; amended July 16, 2001, effective August 1, 2001; amended January 6, 2005, effective January 29, 2005; amended June 2, 2008, effective June 9, 2008; amended December 20, 2013, effective February 20, 2014, 44 Pa.B. 13, 14; amended August 19, 2020, effective January 1, 2021, 50 Pa.B. 4491. Immediately preceding text appears at serial pages (401708) and (370073).



No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.


This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.