Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin
COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 53 Pa.B. 7346 (November 25, 2023).

246 Pa. Code Rule 515. Request for Order for Possession.

Rule 515. Request for Order for Possession.

 A.  If the magisterial district judge has rendered a judgment arising out of a non-residential lease that the real property be delivered up to the landlord, the landlord may, after the 15th day following the date of the entry of the judgment, file with the magisterial district judge a request for an order for possession. The request shall include a statement of the judgment amount, return, and all other matters required by these rules.

 B.(1)  Except as otherwise provided in subdivision B(2), if the magisterial district judge has rendered a judgment arising out of a residential lease that the real property be delivered up to the landlord, the landlord may after the 10th day but within 120 days following the date of the entry of the judgment, file with the magisterial district judge a request for an order for possession. The request shall include a statement of the judgment amount, return, and all other matters required by these rules.

   (2)  In a case arising out of a residential lease, if before the landlord requests an order for possession,

     (a)   an appeal or writ of certiorari operates as a supersedeas; or

     (b)   proceedings in the matter are stayed pursuant to a bankruptcy proceeding or other federal or state law; and

     (c)   the supersedeas or the bankruptcy or other stay is subsequently stricken, dismissed, lifted, or otherwise terminated so as to allow the landlord to proceed to request an order for possession,

     the landlord may request an order for possession only within 120 days of the date the supersedeas or the bankruptcy or other stay is stricken, dismissed, lifted, or otherwise terminated.

   Official Note

   The 15 days in subdivision A of this rule, when added to the 16-day period provided for in Rule 519A, will give the tenant time to obtain a supersedeas within the appeal period. See Rules 1002, 1008, 1009, and 1013.

   The 1995 amendment to section 513 of The Landlord and Tenant Act of 1951, 68 P.S. §  250.513, established a 10-day appeal period from a judgment for possession of real estate arising out of a residential lease. See also Rule 1002B(1). Rule 1002B(2)(a) provides for a 30-day appeal period for tenants who are victims of domestic violence. In most cases, the filing of the request for an order for possession in subdivision B(1) is not permitted until after the appeal period has expired. In cases arising out of a residential lease, the request for an order for possession generally must be filed within 120 days of the date of the entry of the judgment.

   If the tenant is a victim of domestic violence, he or she may file a domestic violence affidavit to stay the execution of the order for possession until the tenant files an appeal with the prothonotary pursuant to Rule 1002, 30 days after the date of entry of the judgment, or by order of the court of common pleas, whichever is earlier. See Rule 514.1C. No posting of money or bond is required to obtain a stay with the filing of a domestic violence affidavit; however, upon the filing of an appeal pursuant to Rule 1002, the stay is lifted, and the supersedeas requirements of Rule 1008 shall apply.

   The magisterial district court shall enter stays in compliance with federal or state law, such as the Servicemembers Civil Relief Act, 50 U.S.C. § §  3901 et seq.

   Subdivision B(2) provides that in a case arising out of a residential lease, if a supersedeas (resulting from an appeal or writ of certiorari) or bankruptcy or other stay is stricken, dismissed, lifted, or otherwise terminated, thus allowing the landlord to proceed with requesting an order for possession, the request may be filed only within 120 days of the date the supersedeas or the bankruptcy or other stay is stricken, dismissed, lifted, or otherwise terminated.

   In many judicial districts, appeals of magisterial district court judgments are submitted to compulsory arbitration pursuant to Pa.R.C.P. Nos. 1301—1314. If, after the arbitration, the prothonotary enters an award for possession on the docket in favor of the landlord and the tenant fails to maintain the supersedeas required by Rule 1008 prior to the prothonotary entering judgment on the award, then the landlord may terminate the supersedeas pursuant to Rule 1008B and request an order of possession from the magisterial district judge pursuant to Rule 515. If the prothonotary enters an award on the docket in favor of the tenant and the tenant fails to maintain the supersedeas prior to the prothonotary entering judgment on the award, the landlord may not obtain an order of possession between the time that the prothonotary enters the arbitration award on the docket and the time that the landlord files a notice of appeal.

   The time limits in which the landlord must request an order for possession imposed in subdivision B apply only in cases arising out of residential leases and in no way affect the landlord’s ability to execute on the money judgment. See Rule 516, Note, and Rule 521A.

   At the time the landlord files the request for an order for possession, the magisterial district court should collect server fees for all actions through delivery of possession. Thereafter, if the order for possession is satisfied 48 hours or more prior to a scheduled delivery of possession, a portion of the server costs may be refundable. See Rules 516 through 520 and 44 Pa.C.S. §  7161(d).

Source

   The provisions of this Rule 515 amended through June 30, 1982, effective August 16, 1982, 12 Pa.B. 2266; amended March 27, 1992, effective 90 days from the date on which the Order is signed, 22 Pa.B. 1893 and 1900; amended March 28, 1996, effective March 29, 1996, 26 Pa.B. 1691; amended April 5, 2002, effective July 1, 2002, 32 Pa.B. 2207; amended April 17, 2020, effective September 1, 2020, 50 Pa.B. 2252; amended August 19, 2020, effective January 1, 2021, 50 Pa.B. 4491 and 4502; amended December 4, 2020, effective January 1, 2021, 50 Pa.B. 7129; amended June 4, 2021, effective January 1, 2022, 51 Pa.B. 3337. Immediately preceding text appears at serial pages (403576) to (403578).



No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.


This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.