Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin
COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 53 Pa.B. 7346 (November 25, 2023).

246 Pa. Code Rule 516. Issuance and Reissuance of Order for Possession.

Rule 516. Issuance and Reissuance of Order for Possession.

 A.  Upon the timely filing of the request form, the magisterial district judge shall issue the order for possession and shall deliver it for service and execution to the sheriff of, or any certified constable in, the county in which the office of the magisterial district judge is situated. If this service is not available to the magisterial district judge, service may be made by any certified constable of the Commonwealth. The order shall direct the officer executing it to deliver actual possession of the real property to the landlord. The magisterial district judge shall attach a copy of the request form to the order for possession.

 B.(1)  Except as otherwise provided in subdivision C, upon written request of the landlord the magisterial district judge shall reissue an order for possession for one additional 60-day period.

   (2)  If an order for possession is issued and subsequently superseded by an appeal, writ of certiorari, supersedeas, or a stay pursuant to a bankruptcy proceeding or other federal or state law or Rule 514.1C, and

     (a)   the appeal, writ of certiorari, or supersedeas is stricken, dismissed, or otherwise terminated; or

     (b)   the bankruptcy or other stay is lifted; and

     (c)   the landlord wishes to proceed with the order for possession, the landlord must file with the magisterial district judge a written request for reissuance of the order for possession in accordance with subdivision B(1).

 C.  In a case arising out of a residential lease, a request for reissuance of an order for possession may be filed only within 120 days of the date of the entry of the judgment or, in a case in which the order for possession is issued and subsequently superseded by an appeal, writ of certiorari, supersedeas, or a stay pursuant to a bankruptcy proceeding or other federal or state law or Rule 514.1C, only within 120 days of the date the appeal, writ of certiorari, or supersedeas is stricken, dismissed, or otherwise terminated or the bankruptcy or other stay is lifted.

 D.  A written request for reissuance of the order for possession, filed after an appeal, writ of certiorari, or supersedeas is stricken, dismissed, or otherwise terminated, or a bankruptcy or other stay is lifted, must be accompanied by a copy of the court order or other documentation striking, dismissing, or terminating the appeal, writ of certiorari, or supersedeas, or lifting the bankruptcy or other stay.

   Official Note

   The order for possession deals only with delivery of possession of real property and not with a levy for money damages. A landlord who seeks execution of the money judgment part of the judgment must proceed under Rule 521A, using the forms and procedure there prescribed. The reason for making this distinction is that the printed notice requirements on the two forms, and the procedures involved in the two matters, differ widely.

   Subdivision B provides for reissuance of the order for possession for one additional 60-day period. However, pursuant to subdivision C, in cases arising out of a residential lease, the request for reissuance of the order for possession must be filed within 120 days of the date of the entry of the judgment or, in a case in which the order for possession is issued and subsequently superseded by an appeal, writ of certiorari, supersedeas or a stay pursuant to a bankruptcy proceeding or other federal or state law or Rule 514.1C, only within 120 days of the date the appeal, writ of certiorari, or supersedeas is stricken, dismissed, or otherwise terminated, or the bankruptcy or other stay is lifted. The additional 60-day period need not necessarily immediately follow the original 60-day period of issuance. The written request for reissuance may be in any form and may consist of a notation on the permanent copy of the request for order for possession form, ‘‘Reissuance of order for possession requested,’’ subscribed by the landlord. The magisterial district judge shall mark all copies of the reissued order for possession, ‘‘Reissued. Request for reissuance filed


(time and date).’’ A new form may be used upon reissuance, those portions retained from the original being exact copies although signatures may be typed or printed with the mark ‘‘/s/.’’ There are no filing costs for reissuing an order for possession, for the reissuance is merely a continuation of the original proceeding. However, there may be additional server costs for service of the reissued order for possession.

   The magisterial district court shall enter stays in compliance with federal or state law, such as the Servicemembers Civil Relief Act, 50 U.S.C. § §  3901 et seq.

   In many judicial districts, appeals of magisterial district court judgments are submitted to compulsory arbitration pursuant to Pa.R.C.P. Nos. 1301—1314. If, after the arbitration, the prothonotary enters an award for possession on the docket in favor of the landlord and the tenant fails to maintain the supersedeas required by Rule 1008 prior to the prothonotary entering judgment on the award, then the landlord may terminate the supersedeas pursuant to Rule 1008B and request an order of possession from the magisterial district judge pursuant to Rule 515. If the prothonotary enters an award on the docket in favor of the tenant and the tenant fails to maintain the supersedeas prior to the prothonotary entering judgment on the award, the landlord may not obtain an order of possession between the time that the prothonotary enters the arbitration award on the docket and the time that the landlord files a notice of appeal.

   The time limits in which the landlord must request reissuance of an order for possession imposed in subdivision C apply only in cases arising out of residential leases and in no way affect the landlord’s ability to execute on the money judgment. See Rule 521A.

Source

   The provisions of this Rule 516 amended June 30, 1982, effective August 16, 1982, 12 Pa.B. 2266; amended July 16, 2001, effective August 1, 2001, 31 Pa.B. 4055; amended April 5, 2002, effective July 1, 2002, 32 Pa.B. 2207; amended April 17, 2020, effective September 1, 2020, 50 Pa.B. 2252; amended August 19, 2020, effective January 2021, 50 Pa.B. 4491 and 4502; amended December 4, 2020, effective January 1, 2021, 50 Pa.B. 7129; amended June 4, 2021, effective January 1, 2022, 51 Pa.B. 3337. Immediately preceding text appears at serial pages (403578) to (403579).



No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.


This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.