Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin
COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 53 Pa.B. 7346 (November 25, 2023).

246 Pa. Code Rule 519. Forcible Entry and Delivery of Possession.

Rule 519. Forcible Entry and Delivery of Possession.

 A.  If, on or after the 16th day following the service of the order for possession arising out of a nonresidential lease, the tenant or any unauthorized occupant remains on the real property, the officer executing the order for possession shall use such force as may be necessary to enter upon the property, by the breaking in of any door or otherwise, and to eject the tenant and any unauthorized occupant and shall deliver possession of the real property to the landlord or the landlord’s agent.

 B.  If, on or after the 11th day following the service of the order for possession in cases arising out of a residential lease, the tenant or any unauthorized occupant remains on the real property, the officer executing the order for possession shall use such force as may be necessary to enter upon the property, by the breaking in of any door or otherwise, and to eject the tenant and any unauthorized occupant and shall deliver possession of the real property to the landlord or the landlord’s agent.

 C.  No order for possession may be executed after 60 days following its issuance or reissuance.

   Official Note

   The differing lengths of notices set for nonresidential leases and residential leases are made necessary by reason of the 1995 amendment to Section 513 of the Landlord and Tenant Act of 1951, 68 P.S. §  250.513. See Rule 515, Note.

Source

   The provisions of this Rule 519 amended through June 30, 1982, effective August 16, 1982, 12 Pa.B. 2266; amended March 27, 1992, effective 90 days from the date on which the Order is signed, 22 Pa.B. 1893 and 1900; amended March 28, 1996, effective March 29, 1996, 26 Pa.B. 1691; amended April 5, 2002, effective July 1, 2002, 32 Pa.B. 2207; amended August 19, 2020, effective January 1, 2021, 50 Pa.B. 4491. Immediately preceding text appears at serial pages (401712) and (370075).



No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.


This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.